Skip to main content

LIBRARY

Reference in APA 6th

Edited Books: With Chapter Authors

Print Books

Brett, E. A. (1996). The classification of posttraumatic stress disorder. In B. van der Kolk, A. McFarlane, & L. Weisaeth (Eds.), Traumatic stress: The effects of overwhelming stress on mind, body and society (pp. 17–128). New York, NY: Guilford Press.

eBooks with URL

Chapter Author, A. (YEAR). Chapter title: Subtitle. In A. B. Editor (Ed.). Book title: Subtitle (pp. #-#). Retrieved from http://url_of_ebook_database

eBooks with DOI

Chapter Author, A. (YEAR). Chapter title: Subtitle. In A. B. Editor (Ed.). Book title: Subtitle (pp. #-#). https://doi.org/##########

Sections from Translated Books

Chapter Author, A. (YEAR). Chapter title: Subtitle. In A.B. EditorSurname (Ed.). & A. B. TranslatorSurname (Trans.). Book title: Subtitle (pp. #-#). Publication details OR url OR doi


For a chapter or article in an edited print book, include the word ‘In’ before the name of the editor/s as shown in the reference list example. Note that the editor's initials are placed before the surname.

In-text, cite the chapter or article author(s) and the year of publication.

Paraphrasing

The classification of PTSD has historically been contentious (Brett, 1996).

Quoting

Brett (1996) states that "the classification of PTSD was controversial" (p. 117).

... "the classification of PTSD was controversial" (Brett, 1996, p. 117).

Loading ...

Edited Books: No Chapter Authors

Print Books

Leonard W. R. & Crawford M. H. (Eds.). (2002). Human biology of pastoral populations. Cambridge, NY: Cambridge University Press.

eBooks with URL

Editor Surname, A. (Ed.). (YEAR). Book title: Subtitle (# ed.). Retrieved from http://url_of_ebook_database

eBooks with DOI

Editor Surname, A. (Ed.). (YEAR). Book title: Subtitle (# ed.). https://doi.org/##########

Translated Books (no author)

Translator Surname, A. (Trans.). (YEAR). Book title: Subtitle (# ed.). Place of publication: Publisher.

In-text, cite the editors(s), the year of publication and page numbers where necessary.

Paraphrasing

..... (Leonard & Crawford, 2002). 

Leonard and Crawford (2002) suggest that .....

Quoting

" ..... " (Leonard & Crawford, 2002, p. 52). 

Leonard and Crawford (2002) state that " ...... " (p. 52).

Loading ...

Books: Editions & Republished works

Print Books

 Cottrell, S. (2003). The study skills handbook (2nd ed.). New York, NY: Palgrave Macmillan.

eBooks with URL

Author, A. (YEAR). Book title: Subtitle (3rd ed.). Retrieved from http://url_of_ebook_database

eBooks with DOI

Author, A. (YEAR). Book title: Subtitle (4th ed.). https://doi.org/##########

In-text citations are the same as for other books.

Other examples  
Rev. ed. Revised edition
2nd Aust. ed. second Australian edition

Print Books

Author, A. (Year). Book title: Subtitle (B. TranslatorSurname, Trans.). Place of Publication: Publisher. (Original work published YEAR).

eBooks

Author, A. (Year). Book title: Subtitle (B. TranslatorSurname, Trans.). Retrieved from http://url (Original work published YEAR).

Edited Book

Durufle, P. (2010). What's wrong with the Rhine? (H. Weaver, Trans.). In M. Flaubert (Ed.), Pollution in the rivers of Europe (pp. 204-207). New York, NY: Bantam.

In-Text: Quotations

(Surname, Year Originally Published/Year of Translation, p.#). (Smith, 1918/2010, p. 23).

In-Text: Paraphrasing

(Surname, Year Originally Published/Year of Translation). (Smith, 1918/2010).

Books

Author, A. (YEAR). Book title: Subtitle. Place of Publication: Publisher. (Original work published YEAR).

Author, A. (YEAR). Book title: Subtitle. Retrieved from http://url (Original work published YEAR).

Note: For an edited anthology of original works, use the same format as chapters in edited books.  In this example the editor is also the translator.

Freud, S. (2001). Heredity and the aetiology of the neuroses. In J. Strachey (Ed. & Trans.), The standard edition of the complete psychological works of Sigmund Freud, Volume III (1893-1899) (pp. 141-156). London, UK: Vintage. (Original work published 1896).

In-Text: Quotations

(Surname, Year Published/Year of Original Publication, p.#). (Freud, 2001/1896, p. 142).

In-Text: Paraphrasing

(Surname, Year Published/Year of Original Publication). (Freud, 2001/1896).

Loading ...

Books: Other

The general format for reference works (dictionaries and encyclopedias):

Author, A. (YEAR). Section/Entry title. In A. B. Editor (Ed.), Reference book title: Subtitle (# ed.).
      (Vol. #, pp. #-#).
Place of Publication: Publisher. OR URL/DOI if online

No Author:

For an entry in a reference work with no author, place the title of the entry in the author position (see ebooks with URL below).

Section/Entry title. (YEAR). In A. B. Editor (Ed.), Reference book title: Subtitle (# ed.).
      (Vol. #, pp. #-#).
Place of Publication: Publisher. or URL/DOI if online

If the author and and the publisher are the same replace the publisher's name with the word Author, i.e.

American Psychological Association. (2010). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.). Washington, DC: Author.

Print Books

VandenBos, G. R. (Ed.). (2007). APA dictionary of psychology. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.

eBooks with URL

Counselling. (2010). In Oxford English online dictionary (3rd ed.). Retrieved from http://dictionary.oed.com

eBooks with DOI

American Psychiatric Association. (2000). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (4th ed., text rev.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890423349

Quotations and in-text referencing

Use the same format as for other books i.e. (VandenBos, 2007).

In the case of an entry without an author, use the Title and Year, i.e ("Section/Entry title", YEAR) OR (Book title, YEAR) i.e. ("Counselling", 2010).

Entry: No Author

Title of entry. (YEAR). In A. Editor (Ed.), Title of reference work (Vol. #, pp. #-#). Retrieved from http://www.gale.cengage.com

Emotional intelligence. (2001). In B. Strickland (Ed.), The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology (pp. 217–218). Retrieved from http://www.gale.cengage.com

John Bowlby. (2016). In J. L. Longe (Ed.), The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology (3rd ed., Vol. 1, pp. 141-143). Retrieved from http://www.gale.cengage.com

Entry: With Author

Author. A. B. (YEAR). Title of entry. In A. Editor (Ed.), Title of reference work (Vol. #, pp. #-#). Retrieved from http://www.gale.cengage.com

Peterson, C.M. (2008). Relationships with clients. In F. T. L. Leong, E. M. Altmaier, & B. D. Johnson (Eds.). Encyclopedia of Counseling (Vol. 2, pp. 832-837). Retrieved from http://www.gale.cengage.com

In-Text: Quotations

“In the workplace and in other organizational settings, the concept of emotional intelligence has spawned an entire industry of EI consultants, testing materials, and workshops” ("Emotional intelligence", 2001, p. 217).

"The therapeutic relationship is central to counselors' work with clients" (Peterson, 2008, p. 832).

In-Text: Paraphrasing

Early researchers identified four areas of emotional intelligence ("Emotional intelligence", 2001).

Building a therapeutic relationship with clients is a core skill in the counselling profession (Peterson, 2008).

Images, tables and figures from books or articles should be treated like quotations. Provide an in-text citation in the caption, with author, year, and page number. The reference list entry should be listed according to its type (book, journal article, etc.) i.e.:

Walker, S., Wood, M., & Nicol, J. (2013). Mastering medical terminology: Australia and New Zealand. Chatswood, Australia: Elsevier Health Sciences.

In-text: Caption

Figure 1: Lymph node (Walker, Wood & Nicol, 2013, p. 92).

You don’t have to provide a reference list entry for classical religious texts. However, when writing the first in-text citation you need to include the version of the work you used, i.e. In developing their course on comparative religion, the instructors consulted the Bible (King James Version).

For citations, provide the relevant names and/or numbers of chapters/verses/lines.

Quoting: First citation only

The Bible describes love in relation to other virtues: “And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love” (1 Cor. 13:1 New International Version).

The Qur’an 5:3 prohibits Muslims from eating “the flesh of swine”.

Paraphrasing: First citation only

In 1 Cor. 13:1 (New International Version), the Bible identifies love as the greatest of the three virtues of love, faith and hope.

The Qur’an prohibits Muslims from eating pork (Qur’an 5:3).

Loading ...