Library Home
Contact Us
WSU SYDNEY CITY LIBRARY
FIND
FIND
BORROW
BORROW
LEARN
LEARN
Now that you know what you are looking for, the next step in the research process is knowing where to search. At the library homepage, begin searching for a wide range of scholarly resources from the MultiSearch search bar.
There are also many relevant and scholarly resources on the internet. However, be sure to evaluate these resources using the REVIEW criteria.
This tutorial will show you where to find a variety of resources from within the library and via the internet.
Library Print Collection - A collection of physical books on a range of academic subjects and disciplines.
Open Access Collection - A curated collection of open access online databases and resources.
There are many relevant and scholarly resources on the internet. However, be sure to evaluate these resources using the REVIEW criteria.
Google Scholar enables you to search the web for scholarly literature, including peer reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Not everything you find in Scholar is accessible for free. However, you can search MultiSearch to find and download many of these resources.
Grey literature can also be accessed using a general Google search. Grey literature may include unpublished or published documents in non-commercial form e.g. government reports, policy statements and issue papers. For example the search 'food insecurity australia policy' will bring back a range of links to policies around food security in Australia. Remember to always apply the REVIEW criteria to resources you find on the internet.
ResearchGate is an excellent social media resource for faculty members, university students, alumni and researchers at educational institutions. It is a great place to see what researchers are currently working on and access information about them. Join ResearchGate to showcase your own publications and get stats; connect with colleagues; and access publications for free.
Government departments at both a state and national level make a wide range of information freely available to the public. Likewise, institutions and organisations will often provide useful information through their official websites. These sites can often be found by running a simple Google search.
The state library in your capital city provides online access to large collections of books and ebooks, journals articles, manuscripts, pictures, news archives and much more. Other libraries which offer similar online services to members include: Trove; The National Library of Australia; Parliamentary Library Australia.
Analysis & Policy Observatory is a research database and alert service providing free access to full text research reports and papers, statistics and other resources essential for public policy development and implementation in Australia and New Zealand.
PubMed is a scholarly index PubMed comprising more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Items you find in PubMed will need to be accessed via MultiSearch.
