ACAP Learning Resources: JALE3934 Forensic Psychology: Briefing Note

Briefing Note 2025, T2 UNDER CONSTRUCTION

Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue (articles)
Go to the library catalogue >
Click on the advanced search page >
Select articles in the material type box.
Box 1 (contains): psychology
Box 2 (contains exact phrase): gang membership
After the results load, change the date range to 2010-2025 and apply the change.
Select peer reviewed (options on the left) and apply the change.
Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue (articles example no. 2)
Go to the library catalogue >
Click on the advanced search page >
Select articles in the material type box.
Box 1 (contains): psychology
Box 2 (contains exact phrase): gang membership
Box 2 (contains): Australia
After the results load, change the date range to 2010-2025 and apply the change.
Select peer reviewed (options on the left) and apply the change.
Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue (articles example no. 3)
Go to the library catalogue >
Click on the advanced search page >
Select articles in the material type box.
Box 1 (contains): psychology
Box 2 (contains exact phrase): gang exit
After the results load, change the date range to 2010-2024 and apply the change.
Select peer reviewed (options on the left) and apply the change.
Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue (articles example no. 4)
Go to the library catalogue >
Click on the advanced search page >
Select articles in the material type box.
Box 1 (contains): forensic psychology
Box 2 (contains exact phrase): youth gangs
After the results load, change the date range to 2010-2025 and apply the change.
Select peer reviewed (options on the left) and apply the change.
Keyword Searching on the AIC Website
Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword search:
"outlaw motorcycle"
Search for the following publications on the AIC website:
- Effects of outlaw motorcycle gang membership and the support needs of former members
- Recruitment into organised criminal groups: A systematic review
Keyword Searching on Taylor & Francis
Clcik on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP email address and password >
Try the following keyword search:
exiting gangs
After the results load click in the 'Only show content I have full access to' and wait for the results to reload.
Articles on Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- What happens next? A grounded theory exploration of the psychological impact of leaving the gang
- Leaving the gang: A review and thoughts on future research
- Gang membership: The psychological evidence (when you search for this and open it, a different article loads - Why gang members commit more crime: Group processes and social cognitive explanations by Jane L Wood - this article looks interesting).
- Motives and methods for leaving the gang: Understanding the process of gang desistance
- Disillusionment and change: A cognitive-emotional theory of gang exit
- Youth crime as a 'way of life'? Prevalence and criminal career correlates among a sample of juvenile detainees in Australia
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can by found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.
Document: Victoria Police Youth Gang Strategy
Victoria Police. (2022). Youth gang strategy.
Books from Ebook Central
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP email address and password >
Search for the following:
- Introduction to Forensic and Criminal Psychology
- The Wiley handbook of what works in violence risk management: Theory, research and practice (see ch. 13 and any other chapters which may be useful)

Note: Ebook Central have changed the way some books appear on this platform. If your book loads in epub format and you would like to swich back to PDF (the standard format we are all used to), follow these steps.

1. open the book
2. click on the book symbol on the right

3. Click on Switch to PDF and follow the prompts.

Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue (articles)
Go to the library catalogue >
Click on the advanced search page >
Select articles in the material type box.
Box 1 (contains exact phrase ): forensic psychology
Box 2 (contains): schizophrenia
Box 3 (contains): criminal justice
Add another box
Box 4 (contains): Australia
After the results load, change the date range to 2010-2025 and apply the change.
Select peer reviewed (options on the left) and apply the change.
Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue (articles example no. 2
Go to the library catalogue >
Click on the advanced search page >
Select articles in the material type box.
Box 1 (contains exact phrase ): forensic psychology
Box 2 (contains exact phrase ): mental illness
Box 3 (contains): rehabilitation
Add another box
Box 4 (contains exact phrase ): criminal justice
After the results load, change the date range to 2010-2025 and apply the change.
Select peer reviewed (options on the left) and apply the change.
Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue (articles example no. 3)
Go to the library catalogue >
Click on the advanced search page >
Select articles in the material type box.
Box 1 (contains ): severe mental illness
Box 2 (contains): mental health courts
Box 3 (contains): forensic psychology
After the results load, change the date range to 2010-2025 and apply the change.
Select peer reviewed (options on the left) and apply the change.
Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue (articles example no. 4)
Go to the library catalogue >
Click on the advanced search page >
Select articles in the material type box.
Box 1 (contains ): severe mental illness
Box 2 (contains): recidivism
Box 3 (contains): Australia
After the results load, change the date range to 2010-2025 and apply the change.
Select peer reviewed (options on the left) and apply the change.
Books from Ebook Central
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP email address and password >
Search for the following:
- Introduction to Forensic and Criminal Psychology
- The Wiley International Handbook of Correctional Psychology (see ch. 16 and any other chapter of interest).
- Forensic Psychology: the Basics
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can by found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

1. open the book
2. click on the book symbol on the right

3. Click on Switch to PDF and follow the prompts.

Articles on Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- Developmental typologies of serious mental illness and violence: Evidence from a forensic psychiatric setting
- Effectiveness of psychological and psychosocial interventions for forensic mental health inpatients: A meta-analysis
Report: The health of people in Australia's prisons 2022
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. (2023, November 15). The health of people in Australia's prisons 2022.

Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue (articles)
Go to the library catalogue >
Click on the advanced search page >
Select articles in the material type box.
Box 1 (contains exact phrase): intimate partner violence
Box 2 (contains): Ogloff
After the results load, change the date range to 2010-2025 and apply the change.
Select peer reviewed (options on the left) and apply the change.
Note: Professor James Ogloff is an Australian academic who trained as a lawyer and psychologist.
Articles Available from the Library Catalogue
Click on the link above which leads to the advanced search page.
Select articles in the material type box >
Search for the following articles:
- Improving police risk assessment and management of family violence through a collaboration between law enforcement, forensic mental health and academia
- Intimate partner violence offenders: Generating a data-based typology of batterers
and implications for treatment
Books from Ebook Central
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP email address and password >
Search for the following:
- The Wiley handbook of what works in violence risk management: Theory, research and practice (see ch. 8,12, 15 and any other chapters which may be useful)
- Working with Domestic Violence : Contexts and Frameworks for Practice
Keyword Searching on the AIC Website
Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword search:
"family violence"
family violence perpetrators
Search for the following articles:
- Prior offending among family violence perpetrators
- Identifying first-time family violence perpetrators
- Domestic violence typologies: What value to practice?
Articles on Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- Intimate partner violence perpetrators in a forensic psychiatric outpatient setting: Criminal history, psychopathology, and victimization
- Intimate partner violence offenders: Generating a data-based typology of batterers and implications for treatment
- Male perpetrators of intimate partner homicide: A review and proposed typology
- The criminogenic and noncriminogenic treatment needs of intimate partner violence offenders
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can by found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

1. open the book
2. click on the book symbol on the right

3. Click on Switch to PDF and follow the prompts.

Report: Family, domestic and sexual violence
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. (2024, February 15). Family, domestic and sexual violence.
Evidence Brief: The role of men’s behaviour change programs in addressing men’s use of domestic, family and sexual violence
Helps, N., Bell, C., Schulze, C., Vlais, R., Clark, O., Seamer, J., & Buys, R. (2025). The role of men’s behaviour change programs in addressing men’s use of domestic, family and sexual violence: An evidence brief (ANROWS Insights, 1/2025). ANROWS. https://doi.org/10.71940/snn3-m344
Policy & Practice: Improving accountability
Australia’s National Research Organisation for Women’s Safety. (2020). Improving accountability: The role of perpetrator intervention systems: Key findings and future directions (Research to policy and practice, 20/2020). Sydney: ANROWS

Writing a policy brief
Published by the Australian National University.
How to write briefing notes
Published by Theresa McKeown & Associates (Canada).
Preparing an effective briefing
Published by the Imperial College London.