Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Student Portal Schedule Appointments Room Bookings Library Events Contact Us
Search and Discover

ACAP LIBRARY

Find

Find

Borrow

Borrow

Learn

Learn

My Library Login Advanced Search Google Scholar PubMed A-Z Journals A-Z Databases

Library Accessibility

ACAP Library is committed to providing an inclusive experience to all library users

Accessibility in the Library

The ACAP Library is committed to providing access to services, collections and spaces to all our library users. If you encounter an accessibility issue at one of our libraries, with our website, or with one of the subscription databases, please contact us here: https://libguides.navitas.com/contact_us 

Register with ACAP AccessAbility Service

If you have a disability, illness, injury or health condition that impacts your academic studies or if you care for someone in these circumstances, please register with the ACAP AccessAbility Service.

Once you have registered, you will be contacted by the Library AccessAbility Officer or you can get in touch with your campus librarian via SMS, emailLibChat or Zoom.

Library Services

Contact your local ACAP library for:

  • Individual library tours
  • Assistance using online and physical library resources
  • Help retrieving items from shelves
  • Assistance with requesting resources from other libraries
  • Information about digitising physical resources
  • Postal loans or extended loan periods

Contact the AccessAbility Librarian for:  

  • Digital copies of your textbook (you will automatically be sent this at the beginning of the trimester)
  • Packs of unit readings if required
  • Print copies of digital textbooks or readings

Campus Libraries

Adelaide

Phone: 02 9964 6352

SMS: 0439 633 437

Email: library.sydney@acap.edu.au

 

Contact Sydney library

 

Brisbane

Phone: 07 3234 4410

SMS: 0439 633 437
Email: library.brisbane@acap.edu.au

Ground Floor, East Tower, 410 Ann Street, Brisbane 

  • The entrance to ACAP is on the ground level of Ann street.
  • The Library is on the ground floor.
  • There are unisex toilets on every floor.
  • The library entrance is wheelchair accessible.

Byron Bay

Phone: 07 3234 4410
SMS: 0439 633 437
Email: library.brisbane@acap.edu.au

373-391 Ewingsdale Road, Byron Bay 

  • ACAP reception, classroom, café and library are on the ground floor.
  • There is wheelchair access parking in front of the entrance to the reception area. 
  • There is a ramp that leads up to the front doors. 
  • There are wheelchair accessible toilets.
  • The library entrance is wheelchair accessible.

Melbourne

Phone:  03 86130622
Phone:  03 83272608

SMS: 0439 633 437
Email: library.melbourne@acap.edu.au

Level 8, 123 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne    

  • There is an accessible entrance to 123 Lonsdale Street.
  • Take the lifts to level 8.
  • There are unisex accessible toilets are on Level 8.
  • The library entrance is wheelchair accessible. 

Perth

SMS 0439 633 437
library.perth@acap.edu.au

Level 3, 116-120 Roe Street, Northbridge 

  • The Perth SAE ACAP Library is located on the ground floor, behind reception.
  • There is a wheelchair access ramp up to the classrooms and lecture theatre on the ground floor. 
  • There are accessible toilets on both the ground floor and third floor. 
  • The library entrance is wheelchair accessible.

Sydney 

Phone: 02 9964 6352

SMS: 0439 633 437
Email: library.sydney@acap.edu.au

Level 8, 255 Elizabeth Street, Sydney    

  • The entrance to 255 Elizabeth is accessible from either Elizabeth Street or Castlereah Street.
  • From Castlereah Street, take the single lift to G and then use one of the main lifts to go to level 8.
  • There are unisex accessible toilets on every floor.
  • The library entrance may not be wide enough for some wheelchairs. Please call us before you come in.

Library Addresses and Opening Hours

Accessibility Software

SensusAccess

SensusAccess is a self-service solution that allows you to automatically convert files from one format to another.  You can convert a PDF into an MP4 so that you can read it aloud. SensusAccess can be used to convert inaccessible documents such as image-only PDF files, JPG pictures and Microsoft PowerPoint presentations into more accessible and less tricky formats. 

Navigate to https://www.sensusaccess.com/web3/acap

The Library Catalogue: MultiSearch

MultiSearch is the gateway to all the resources held in all the ACAP libraries.  MultiSearch will retrieve all the books, journal articles, videos, databases and everything else held in our collection.

You should be able to:

  • Navigate using just a keyboard
  • Go directly to main content areas on the page using skip links
  • Listen to most of the website using a screen reader
  • Navigate most of the website using speech recognition software
  • Zoom in up to 200% using browser tools without text spilling off screen
  • Use most of the website with devices of different screen sizes and orientations without loss of content or functionality

How to search the catalogue:

  • Navigate to MultiSearch.  You can either use your own screen reader to search, or you can activate the built-in Voice Search Assistant by clicking on the microphone in the search bar.  The Voice Assistant is very basic.  For example you can say "Aboriginal women and trauma". You cannot conduct a more complex search this way.

  • For help searching the library catalogue, go to Information Skills: Instructional Videos.  Most of the videos have captions or subtitles.  To activate the captions, use the CC button.

Search the library catalogue

Accessing the Library Databases

  • The library holds subscriptions to a range of databases.  
  • You can choose whether you want to search our catalogue (Multisearch) which retrieves results from all our resources including databases.
  • You may prefer to search databases directly.  You can do this by choosing a database from A-Z Databases.
  • Each database has different accessibility options.  For more information about the options, choose Databases in the side menu on this guide.