Skip to main content

Library

 

Useful Websites

Links to useful online tools and scholarly resources.

globe icon

A wide range of scholarly material can be freely accessed online. These links take you to a variety of libraries, institutional repositories and social networks across a range of subject areas. Highly recommended is joining social networks such as Researchgate and your State Library.

Links to more sites which may be of use for particular modules and assessment tasks can be found in Subject Guides.

Recommended Websites

Loading ...

A-Z Useful Websites

Aged Care Australia (My Aged Care)

The My Aged Care website has been established by the Australian Government to help you navigate the aged care system. My Aged Care is part of the Australian Government’s changes to the aged care system which have been designed to give people more choice, more control and easier access to a full range of aged care services.

Alcohol and other Drug Services in Victoria

Standards and guidelines direct alcohol and other drug service providers to ensure safe, accessible and professional treatment services.

Alzheimer's Australia

Includes information about research, publications, and conferences around dementia and memory loss.

AmoebaWeb 

Provides over 2000 links to psychology content (including full-text articles) freely available on the Web.

American Psychological Association

The APA Home Page Includes a list of useful web sites arranged by topic and a link to the Code of Ethics for Psychologists

American Psychoanalytic Association

APsaA, as a professional organization for psychoanalysts, focuses on education, research and membership development. Home page includes links to relevant journals and organisations around the world plus their code of ethics.

American Sociological Association

The ASA site includes information on the discipline for Sociologists and Students as well as links to a Research Index the Code of Ethics, and Teaching resources. Working at the national and international levels, the Association aims to articulate policy and implement programs likely to have the broadest possible impact for sociology now and in the future.

Association for Psychological Science

The Association for Psychological Science (previously the American Psychological Society) site includes information on the APS plus web links to resources on teaching psychology, funding opportunities and links to other internet resources.

Australian Association of Social Workers

The AASW Library plans to provide its membership, associated and other interested professionals and the general public with a range of on-line information and resources that can be viewed, printed and downloaded.

Australian Bureau of Statistics

Access to the full range of ABS statistical and reference information.

Australian Centre for Posttraumatic Mental Health

Phoenix Australia – Centre for Posttraumatic Mental Health promotes recovery for the 15 million Australians affected by trauma. We do this by working with individuals, organisations and the community to understand, prevent, and recover from the potential adverse effects of trauma. Phoenix Australia is an independent, not-for-profit organisation with an affiliation with the University of Melbourne.

Australian Clinical Practice Guidelines

The Clinical Practice Guidelines Portal provides access to clinical practice guidelines produced for Australian practice that have been assessed against selection criteria modified from the United States' National Guidelines Clearinghouse and adapted to the Australian context.

Australian Counselling Association

ACA is Australia's largest single registration body for Counsellors and Psychotherapists with over 4,100 members. ACA serves a crucial role in advocating and advancing the profession of counselling and psychotherapy.

Australian Community Counselling Association

The MyACCA.com.au website has been put together as a refreshing intergration of community good will and desire to represent the thousands of Counsellors across Australia as their personal Association. 

Australian Council of Social Services

Australian Council of Social Services contains many full text documents on a range of social policy issues: ACOSS is active in ten key policy areas: Community Services; Economics and Tax; Employment, Education and Training; Health; Housing; Indigenous Issues; International social issues; Law and Justice; Rural and Remote Communities; Social Security.

Australian Department of Health & Ageing

Australian Government - Health Information and Education.

Australian Drug Foundation

The Australian Drug Foundation is Australia’s leading body committed to preventing alcohol and other drug problems in communities around the nation.

Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency

A wide range of publications for health practitioners: Reports, legal resources, newsletter, fact sheets, procedures and professional agreements. 

Australian Human Rights Commission

The Australian Human Rights Commission is the new name of the Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission. The Commission was established in 1986 by an act of the federal Parliament. We are an independent statutory organisation and report to the federal Parliament through the Attorney-General.

Australian Indigenous HealthInfonet

The Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet is an innovative Internet resource that aims to inform practice and policy in Indigenous health by making research and other knowledge readily accessible. In this way, we contribute to 'closing the gap' in health between Indigenous and other Australians.

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare

The Australian Institute of Health and Welfare is a national agency for health and welfare statistics. Subject areas include: Ageing and aged care; Alcohol and other drugs; Children and youth; Housing and homelessness; Indigenous Australians; Mental health and Rural health.

Australian Institute of Family Studies

The Australian Government's key research body in the area of family wellbeing, conducting research to increase the understanding of Australian families and the issues that affect them.

The Australian and New Zealand Urological Nurses Society

ANZUNS is the peak professional organisation for urology nursing in Australia and New Zealand.

Australian Nursing Federation

The Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation is the union for registered nurses, enrolled nurses, midwives, and assistants in nursing doing nursing work in every state and territory throughout Australia.

Analysis and Policy Observatory

Contains a list of all new policies and reports published by government organisations.

Australian Psychological Society

The APS is the largest professional association for psychologists in Australia.

Australian Youth Forum

The Australian Youth Forum (AYF) is run by the Australian Government as a communication channel between the Government, young people and youth sector organisations.  The AYF encourages young people to get involved in ongoing public discussions and then uses you input in the development of public policy.

Beyondblue

One of the key roles of beyondblue is to produce and refer people to accurate, up to date, easy to read information on depression, anxiety and related disordersContains information about depression and anxiety disorders. Has basic information on symptoms, signs of depression and links to counsellors and doctors.

British Psychological Society

The Society and its members develop, promote and apply psychology for the public good. We enhance the efficiency and usefulness of psychologists by setting high standards of professional education and knowledge. We cover all areas of psychological research and practice.

Brotherhood of St Laurence

Established during the Great Depression, the Brotherhood of St Laurence was the vision and creation of Fr Gerard Tucker, a man who combined his Christian faith with a fierce determination to end social injustice.

The Child and Family Welfare Association of Australia

The Association of Children's Welfare Agencies is a peak body that was founded in 1958 in New South Wales with the objectives of supporting non government agencies and improving the quality of services to children and young people who need to live away from their families.

Case Management Society of Australia

A non-profit organisation dedicated to the support and development of the practice of quality Case Management.

Classics in the History of Psychology 

Offers full texts of documents significant in the history of psychology by author or by topic. Includes ancient, medieval/renaissance, and modern thought.

Cochrane Library Online 

The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups.

CogPrints: Cognitive Sciences Eprint Archives 

An electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science.

Commonwealth Parliamentary Library

Excellent collection of online documents which provide overviews of key policy areas. The collection is searchable and contains a list of the most current publications.

Conflict Resolution Network

The Conflict Resolution Network provides information and skills to build stronger organisations and more rewarding relationships. There is access to training material, handouts, resources and team building ideas and activities.

Core

CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public. In this way CORE facilitates free unrestricted access to research for all.

Dead Sociologists Society

What began as one sociologists attempt to get their undergrads interested in the biographies of greats in the field has grown into an in-depth look at the profession. There is still the Dead Sociologists Index but scroll down on the DSS page to see links to organizations, theory, publishers and much more.

Department of Social Services

The DSS aspires to be Australia’s pre-eminent social policy agency. Thier mission is to improve the lifetime wellbeing of people and families in Australia.

DrugInfo

Part of the Australian Drug Foundation, druginfo offers information about alcohol and other drugs and the prevention of related harms. Has an enormous range of fact sheets for all ages, sexes and cultures.

Eating Disorders Victoria

Eating Disorders Victoria (EDV) is unique in Victoria in providing a comprehensive support and information service on all aspects of eating disorders.

Edmund Rice Centre

The Edmund Rice Centre is involved in a range of projects and activities across the four areas of its operation in research, community education, advocacy and networking.

Family Court of Australia

The Family Court of Australia website contains information about the appeals process, legislation, information for journalists, court structure and initiatives and job vacancies.

Feminist.com

Feminist.com is a thriving online community fostering awareness, education and activism for women all across the world. The site serves as the Internet’s definitive hub for resources and information dedicated to women's equality, justice, wellness and safety.

Free Medical Journals 

Over the next years, the most important medical journals will be available online, free and in full-text. The unrestricted access to scientific knowledge - the new standard in medical publishing - will have a major impact on medical practice.

Frontiers 

Open-access publisher of scholarly articles. Covers science, medicine, technology, society and culture. The Frontiers vision is a digital marketplace where equal opportunities to seek, share and generate knowledge is offered.

GovPubs (Australia)

GovPubs: the Australian Government Publications Guide is a guide to selected types of Australian government publications, such as Acts, Hansards, Gazettes and Parliamentary Papers, located in Australia's National, State and Territory libraries or available on the Internet.

Health Direct Australia

Healthdirect provides a range of free health services on behalf of the governments of Australia.

Information for Practice

To help social service professionals throughout the world conveniently maintain an awareness of news regarding the profession and emerging scholarship.

InfoXchange Australia

Infoxchange Australia is a not-for-profit organisation that works for social justice and social equality by empowering people through access to technology. Search through Sitemap for direction to relevant areas or from homepage be directed through to major topic portals such as: Youth; Health & Primary Care; Disability; Housing & homelessness.

IngentaConnect 

The home of scholarly research, Ingenta Connect is your gateway to the world's most comprehensive collection of academic & professional digital content.

International Directory of Philosophy 

Contains information on university philosophy departments and programs, philosophical societies, research centers, journals, and philosophy publishers in the U.S., Canada, and approximately 130 other countries.

International Sociological Association

Includes information on the Association plus web links to Funding Opportunities, Conferences, 'Books of the Century', their Code of Ethics, and Links to other internet resources.

Jade

Staying up to date with the latest decisions of Australian and International Courts and Tribunals and Australian legislation has never been easier. New, revised, updated and so much more sophisticated, JADE takes online legal research to a whole new level.

LIFE (Living is for everyone)

LIFE Communications is a National Suicide Prevention Strategy project managed by Crisis Support Services on behalf of the Department of Health and Ageing. The project aims to improve access to suicide and self-harm prevention activities in Australia through the promotion of the LIFE resources and website; and improve communication between suicide prevention stakeholders in Australia.

Lifeline Australia

Lifeline provides access to crisis support, suicide prevention and mental health support services. Lifeline also provides national services and campaigns that promote emotional wellbeing, encourage help seeking, and address suicide prevention and awareness. Lifeline is a not-for-profit organisation and relies on community support.

Maslow Online

Links to online resources dedicated to the work of Abraham Maslow.

MedlinePlus 

Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.

Men's Health Australia

AMHF is an alliance of individual men and women, organisations and service providers actively engaged in or interested in addressing the physical, psychological, emotional, intellectual, educational, social, spiritual, developmental and relational needs of men and boys in Australia and any other issues that impact on them.

Mental Health Coordinating Council

The Mental Health Coordinating Council (MHCC) is the peak body for community mental health organisations in New South Wales.

MentalHelp.net

Covers information on disorders such as depression, anxiety, panic attacks, chronic fatigue syndrome and substance abuse, to professional resources in psychology, psychiatry and social work, journals and self-help magazines.

Merck Manual of Medical Information 

Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written in everyday language.

Mission Australia

Mission Australia is a Christian community service organisation that has been transforming the lives of Australians in need for more than 150 years. Their vision is to see a fairer Australia by enabling people in need to find pathways to a better life.

Australian Council for Educational Research

Creating and promoting research-based knowledge, products and services to improve learning.

Australian Open Access Strategy Group

For scholarly work Open Access means making peer reviewed scholarly manuscripts freely available via the Internet, permitting any user to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full text of these articles, crawl them for indexing, pass them as data to software, or use them for any lawful purpose, without financial, legal or technical barriers other than those inseparable from gaining access to the internet itself.

National Asthma Council Australia

Provides the latest information on asthma to health professionals to help improve their quality of care gather, analyze and share information on asthma work with all members of the asthma community, including people with asthma and their carers, health professionals, patient support organizations, the health industry, and government agencies continue to set the standard for best-practice asthma management.

National Enrolled Nurse Association of Australia

NENA aims to: provide a forum for sharing information and ideas between members; facilitate participation in seminars, conferences and decision making forums; raise the public profile of enrolled nursing and increase awareness of the value of the role; facilitate participation in projects and research pertinent to enrolled nurses; provide a forum to identify professional needs and to facilitate the development and role enhancement of members in order to secure employment opportunities across a broad range of healthcare settings; keep members informed, be honest, fair and correct in its communication of information; and promote awareness, interest and membership of the National Enrolled Nurse Association (NENA) and the Australian Nursing & Midwifery Federation (ANMF).

National Guideline Clearing House (USA)

AHRQ's National Guideline Clearinghouse is a public resource for summaries of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

National Health and Research Council

NHMRC funding supports research across the full spectrum of health and medical research, from basic science through to clinical, public health and health services research.

National Stroke Foundation

Raising awareness of the risk factors and signs of stroke. Improving treatment for stroke to save lives and reduce disability. Improving life after stroke. Encouraging and facilitating stroke research. Advocating for improved stroke prevention, treatment and support.

NDLTD

Search millions of electronic theses and dissertations contained in the NDLTD archive.

NICE (UK)

Evidence search provides access to selected and authoritative evidence in health, social care and public health.

Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia

Registering nursing and midwifery practitioners and students developing standards, codes and guidelines for the nursing and midwifery profession handling notifications, complaints, investigations and disciplinary hearings assessing overseas trained practitioners who wish to practise in Australia approving accreditation standards and accredited courses of study.

Nursing in Victoria

FAQs on registering to work as a nurse in Victoria, what to study to become a nurse and furthering your nursing career.

OAIster 

Millions of digital resources from thousands of contributors.

Online Opinion

Online Opinion is a not-for-profit e-journal that aims to provide a forum for public social and political debate about current Australian issues.

OpenDOAR

OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories.

OpenEdition 

OpenEdition brings together four platforms dedicated to electronic resources in the humanities and social sciences.

PACFA & PACJA (Journal)

The Psychotherapy and Counselling Federation of Australia Inc. is a peak body for Member Associations which meet the standards developed by consensus as appropriate for professional practitioners within the disciplines of Counselling and Psychotherapy in the Australian community.

Parkinson's Australia

The role of Parkinson’s Australia is to advocate on the basis of evidence-based policy, promote awareness of Parkinson’s and administer national contracts with the Commonwealth Government.

ParlInfo Web 

ParlInfo Web provides access to the Parliamentary Document Repository. ParlInfo contains over one million documents relating to the work of the Australian Parliament including Parliamentary debates.

PDQT Open

With PQDT Open, you can read the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.

PhilPapers 

A searchable index to works of both well-known and little-known philosophers on various philosophical topics throughout the web.

PLoS Public Library of Science 

PLOS (Public Library of Science) is a nonprofit publisher and advocacy organization founded to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.

Policy Library

Policy Library is a social, economic and foreign policy resource - updated daily with the latest jobs, research, and events. It's members reach an audience of hundreds of thousands of policy makers, politicians, academics and students.

Psych Web

Psychology-related information for students and teachers of psychology.

PsychCentral

A well arranged, up-to-date site containing many links to web resources for Research & Writing, areas of Specialization, Psychology departments worldwide and a directory of Mental Health and Psychology Resources.

Psychological Assessments Australia

PAA provides 'premier assessment products to psychologists, health practitioners and HR specialists in Australia and New Zealand'. Includes details on how to order.

Psychology Research and Behavior Management

An international, peer-reviewed, open access journal focusing on the science of psychology and its application in behavior management to develop improved outcomes in the clinical, educational, sports and business arenas.

Psychology research on the Net

Links to known experiments on the internet that are psychologically related.

Psychology Virtual Library

An excellent web site with links to user-evaluated online psychology resources. Includes links to webpages about the History of Psychology, a list of electronic and print Journals, and a Directory of Psychology sites on the web.

Psychology's Feminist Voices 

A multimedia internet archive devoted to the women of psychology's past and the diverse voices of contemporary feminist psychologists.

PsychOz Publications

PsychOz publications provide users with psychology related journal links and titles, events, training guides and links to counselling referals.

PubMed 

PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

PubPsych 

PubPsych is a free information retrieval system for psychological resources.

Refugee Council of Australia

The Refugee Council of Australia is a non-profit peak organisation. It provides information on and advocacy for refugees and humanitarian entrants in Australia.

Research Australia

Research Australia is an alliance of 160 members and supporters advocating for health and medical research in Australia.

Research Data Australia

Find, access, and re-use data for research - from over one hundred Australian research organisations, government agencies, and cultural institutions.

 

The Australian Sociological Association

TASA's homepage includes online resources for academics and Sociology postgraduates including Australian Sociology Departments, Conferences, Careers & Study, Ethical Guidelines, plus a good links page, and their Public Access Sociology page for all.

ScienceOpen 

ScienceOpen is a freely accessible research network to share and evaluate scientific information. We aggregate Open Access articles from a variety of sources – opening them up to commenting and discussion. Manuscripts submitted to ScienceOpen will be published Open Access and evaluated in a fully transparent Post-Publication Peer Review process.

Social Policy Research Centre

The Social Policy Research Centre is a research centre of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences at the University of New South Wales. The SPRC conducts research and fosters discussion on all aspects of social policy in Australia.

SocioSite

Socio Site is designed to give access to all information and resources which are relevant for sociologists and other social scientists. Includes pages on Famous Sociologists plus links to Universities and Departments around the world offering Sociology.

SocioWeb

Sociology related information for students and teachers. Includes useful resources on Sociology Topics and a guides to web pages on Surveys and Statistics.

Sociology Central

This UK site is designed to assist the study and teaching of Sociology. It includes downloadable teaching resources, a research exchange, and sites arranged by sociological topics.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.

Suicide Prevention Australia

Contains general information about suicide and references to organisations in specific areas.

TED

TED includes the award-winning TEDTalks video site, the Open Translation Project and Open TV Project, the inspiring TED Fellows and TEDx programs, and the annual TED Prize.

The Australia Institute

An independent think tank dedicated to develop and conduct research and policy analysis and to participate forcefully in public debates.

The Law Handbook -- Victoria

The Law Handbook is a practical guide to the law in Victoria, updated by over 80 legal experts. It provides free, comprehensive information about the laws that affect Victorians in everyday life.

The Open Psychology Journal

Free journal database

The Open Sociology Journal

Free journal database

The University of Adelaide, University Library: Psychiatric Rating Scales and Diagnostic Aids

A comprehensive listing of tests and measures used in the psychology field, compiled by the University of Adelaide Library.

TRIP

Trip medical database, a smart, fast tool to find high quality clinical research evidence.

Trove

National Library of Australia. Users can search databases, music, books, journals, newspapers, etc.

 

VIChealth

The Victorian Health Promotion Foundation (VicHealth) is a pioneer in health promotion – the process of enabling people to increase control over and improve their health. Our primary focus is promoting good health and preventing chronic disease.

Women's Electoral Lobby

The Women’s Electoral Lobby (WEL) is a feminist, not for profit, self-funded, non-party political, lobby group founded in 1972. WEL continues to work as a research/advocacy group for the issues that disadvantage women.

WorldCat 

Find what you want in a library near you with WorldCat, a global catalog of library collections.

World Health Organisation

WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

WorldWideScience 

WorldWideScience is a global science gateway composed of national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of databases from around the world. Multilingual WorldWideScience provides real-time searching and translation of globally dispersed multilingual scientific literature.

WWW Virtual Library

An excellent web site with links to user-evaluated online resources.

 

Loading ...