Student Portal
Schedule Appointments
Room Bookings
Contact Us
ACAP LEARNING RESOURCES
Find
Find
Borrow
Borrow
Learn
Learn
The reading tools within Read&Write give students choice in how they engage with content. Use Read&Write for:
For the best experience, it is recommended that you download the application as well as the browser extension. The extension is able to interact with content viewed in a browser - something the application is unable to do at this time.
For download links and instructions on how to use Read&Write, please navigate using the tabs above.
Please refer to the PDFs below for instructions on installing the Read&Write application and browser extension.
Read what you type including individual words, passages, or whole documents aloud with easy-to-follow dual color highlighting.
How to use: Select text, then interact using the 
buttons.
Captures ‘snapshot’ images and text from any document, email or web page, and transforms them into editable and accessible formats.
How to use: Click 
to activate, then hold down left-click and drag to take a ‘snapshot’ of a portion of the screen.
Converts text into MP3 audio files, for listening on the move. Also consider using SensusAccess, which may better suit your needs for converting larger files to audio.
How to use: Select text, then click 
.
Reads PDF documents out loud. Users can highlight words and look up dictionary definitions of any word.
How to use: Click 
to open a PDF file in a new window.
Advanced, dyslexia-friendly, spellchecker to help correct complex spelling and grammar. It offers word suggestions and dictionary definitions too.
How to use: Select text, then click 
.
Identifies homophones and commonly confused words. Like ‘there’, ‘they’re’ and ‘their’.
How to use: Select text, then click 
.
Toggles Similar Word Checker highlights on and off.
How to use: Click 
to toggle.
Intuitively predicts the word that’s being typed and the word most likely to follow.
How to use: Click 
to toggle.
Basic dictionary, advanced dictionary and web dictionary provides written and pictorial definition of any word.
How to use: Select the word you need to look up, then click 
for the basic/advanced dictionary, or 
for the pictorial dictionary.
Converts paper documents and inaccessible PDFs into accessible digital formats.
How to use: Click 
, then select file(s) to convert to PDF or Word.
Converts the spoken word into text. Users speak and watch as their words appear on screen. Note: Unavailable for Mac users.
How to use: Click 
to toggle.
Tints the whole screen in any chosen colour, and provides a reading spotlight that can be tailored by colour, size and opacity by opening the menu, then navigating to Show more settings.
How to use: Click 
to toggle.
With over 50 languages to choose from, users can translate paragraphs of text from one language to another. The default language is French, which you can change by opening the menu, then navigating to Show more settings.
How to use: Select text, then click 
.
Highlights and collects digital content from multiple sources into one document, with automatic source referencing.
How to use: Select text, then select one of four colours to highlight: 
. To remove highlighted text, select the text then click 
. Click 
to generate a document with all highlighted text.
Creates a personalized dictionary or word list from highlights.
How to use: Click 
to create a new document with single word highlights.
The Research Folder can be used to quickly collect and save information that you want to keep. This information can later be exported to Microsoft Word and include a bibliography.
How to use: Click 
to open the research folder toolbar. To add an image to your research folder, click 
. This will prompt you to left-click and drag your mouse to select a portion of the screen to save as an image. To add text to your research folder, first select the text you would like to save, then click 
. You can view your saved items in your research folder at any time by clicking 
.
Offers an alternative to writing comments in documents. Users can record audio notes in MP3 format instead.
How to use: Click 
to open a recording control window.