ACAP Learning Resources: JALE1064 Ethics &amp; Criminal Justice: Presentations

Ethics Presentations

Keyword Searching on AustLII
Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword search:
ethics AND "capital punishment"
Keyword Searching on EBSCO
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Select EBSCO Research Databases >
Click on the yellow continue button if prompted >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword search:
ethics AND "capital punishment"
consequentialism AND "capital punishment"
capital punishment debate
Keyword Searching on Taylor & Francis
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP log in details. Enter the following keywords into the search box.
consequentialist "capital punishment"
ethics "death penalty"
capital punishment debate
Some results will appear but click on the 'Only show content I have full access to' and wait for the page to reload.
You will be able to open anything with a green tick (part of our subscription) or yellow padlock (open access/free) in the lower right hand corner.
Keyword Searching on Proquest
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Ensure the full-text, peer reviewed and scholarly boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword search:
capital punishment debate
Articles on Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following:
- The Death Penalty Debate: A Critical Examination of the Moral Justifications for Capital Punishment
- The Case Against the Case Against the Death Penalty
- Principle and Pragmatism in the Death Penalty Debate
- The death penalty + Bonnie
- Science and the death penalty: DNA, innocence, and the debate over capital punishment in the United States
- The Death Penalty Debate Across Cultures: a Look at the Main Arguments
- The Death Penalty Debate: Four Problems and New Philosophical Perspectives
- A Contractarian Argument Against the Death Penalty
- Homicide and the death penalty: A cross-national test of a deterrece hypothesis
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading to find the correct/complete information.

Keyword Searching on AustLII
Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword searches:
ethics AND euthanasia
euthanasia debate
After the results load, click on the grey By Date link just above the search results to list the most recent articles first.
Keyword Searching on EBSCO
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Select ESCO Research Databases >
Click on the yellow continue button >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword search:
euthanasia debate
euthanasia AND ethic*
Keyword Searching on Taylor & Francis
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP log in details. Enter the following keywords into the search box.
euthanasia debate
euthanasia ethics
capital punishment debate
Some results will appear but click on the 'Only show content I have full access to' and wait for the page to reload.
You will be able to open anything with a green tick (part of our subscription) or yellow padlock (open access/free) in the lower right hand corner.
Keyword Searching on Proquest
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Ensure the full-text, peer reviewed and scholarly boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches:
euthanasia debate
euthanasia n/10 ethic*

more... less...

euthanasia n/10 ethic* = we would like the word euthanasia to appear within 10 words of ethics or ethical.
Articles on Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following:
- Euthanasia and assisted dying: what is the current position and what are the key arguments informing the debate?
- Would we rather lose our life than lose our self? Lessons from the Dutch debate on euthanasia for patients with dementia
- Euthanasia: A Debate—For and Against
- Advance euthanasia directives: a controversial case and its ethical implications
- Informing the euthanasia debate: Perceptions of Australian politicians
- Is euthanasia psychiatric treatment? The struggle with death on request in the Netherlands
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading to find the correct/complete information.

You may see references to Roe v Wade or the Roe case in some articles. This is a landmark abortion rights case in the USA. Even though it is an American case, the arguments discussed are generally relevant.

Keyword Searching on EBSCO
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Select EBSCO Research Databases >
Click on the yellow continue button >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches:
abortion debate
abortion AND ethic*
Keyword Searching on Taylor & Francis
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP log in details. Enter the following keywords into the search box.
abortion debate
abortion ethics
Some results will appear but click on the 'Only show content I have full access to' and wait for the page to reload.
You will be able to open anything with a green tick (part of our subscription) or yellow padlock (open access/free) in the lower right hand corner.
Keyword Searching on Proquest
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Ensure the full-text, peer reviewed and scholarly boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches:
"abortion debate"
abortion n/5 ethic*

more... less...

abortion n/5 ethic* = we would like the word abortion to appear with 5 words of ethics or ethical
News: Gillick competency, the courts and parental consent: What are the steps for a teenager to get an abortion?
Murray, W. (2025, August 5). Earlier this year, the Queensland Supreme Court gave permission for a hospital to perform a surgical abortion on a 12-year-old girl who was nine weeks pregnant. The Conversation.
Articles on Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following:
- Phenomenology of pregnancy and the ethics of abortion
- The ethics of access: Reframing the need for abortion care as a health disparity
- A critical review of conscientious objection and decriminalisation of abortion in Chile
- Even if the fetus is not a person, abortion is immoral: The impairment argument
- Why abortion is immoral
- Sensationalized Philosophy: A Reply to Marquis's “Why Abortion Is Immoral”
- Abortion in legal, social, and healthcare contexts
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading to find the correct/complete information.

Keyword Searching on Proquest
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Ensure the full-text, peer reviewed and scholarly boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches:
pornography n/5 ethic*
"pornography debate"

more... less...

pornography n/5 ethic* = we want the system to find the word pornography within 5 words of ethics or ethical
Keyword Searching on Taylor & Francis
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP log in details. Enter the following keywords into the search box.
"pornography debate"
Some results will appear but click on the 'Only show content I have full access to' and wait for the page to reload.
You will be able to open anything with a green tick (part of our subscription) or yellow padlock (open access/free) in the lower right hand corner.
Articles on Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- Is there a right to pornography?
- Right to pornography: Critique of Dworkin
- Reevaluating Anti-Pornography Arguments: Definitions and Ramifications
- Perspectives on Pornography Demand Ethical Critique
- Restricted modes: Social media, content classification and LGBTQ sexual citizenship
- Regulating deep fakes: legal and ethical considerations
- The feminist case against pornography: A review and re-evaluation
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading to find the correct/complete information.
Four Corners: Porn: A Ruthless Business
Caeney, M. (Executive Producer).(2023). Porn: A ruthless business. Four Corners. (Current Affairs Program). EduTV
If the link doesn't connect, go to the A-Z databases page on the library website > select E > EduTV > Log in and search for porn "ruthless business".

Books from Ebook Central
Click on the link above >
Search for the following books:
- Everyday Ethics (see chapter on pornography and prostitution)
- Against Perfectionism : Defending Liberal Neutrality (see ch. 3)
Books on the Library Catalogue
Click on the link above >
Select books in the material type box >
Search for the following title:
- Sex work on campus (contains a definition of sex work)
- Sex Work, Labour and Relations
Articles on Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- Is Prostitution Morally Wrong?
- Legal philosophical considerations of prostitution
- Is Morally Meaningful Consent to Sex Work Possible?
- Is prostitution harmful?
- Philosophy of sex
- On the morality of commercialized sex:-moral issues on commercial sex from contractarian and feminist ethics perspectives
- The Moral Obligation for Sex Worker Rights
- Should sex work ‘be understood as legitimate work, and an expression of women’s choice and agency’
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading to find the correct/complete information.