ACAP Learning Resources: CRIM2014 Applied Criminology: Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliography 2025, T2

Using the advanced search page on the library catalogue

Select articles in the material type box >
Enter terms into the search boxes (use the + sign to add extra boxes)

After the results load, change the date range on the left to 2010 - 2025 (or the most recent date available). Click on refine to retain the change.
After the date range changes, select peer reviewed articles from the options on the left and apply the change.

Library Catalogue Search: Example 1 - right wing radicalisation
Click on the link above to see a search example for the topic right wing radicalisation.
Note the following:
- articles were selected in the material type box before the search.
After the search:
- the date range was refined to 2010 - 2025
- peer reviewed journals was selected and the change was applied
Library Catalogue Search: Example 2 - right wing radicalisation
Click on the link above to see a search example for the topic right wing radicalisation.
Note the following:
- articles were selected in the material type box before the search.
After the search:
- the date range was refined to 2010 - 2025
- peer reviewed journals was selected and the change was applied

Keyword Searching on Ebook Central
Ebook Central Contains Ebooks
To access this database, click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP Student Portal login details >
Search for the books listed below or try your own keyword search >
Click on a book title to open the book >
Click on the read online button to browse through the contents.
- Crime and justice a guide to criminology
- Crime criminality and criminal justice
- Drugs in Australian society
- Policing in context

Keyword Searching on EBSCO
EBSCO contains academic journal articles and some Ebooks.
To access this database, click on the link above >and log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Click on the "continue" button if it appears >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Enter some keywords relating to your topic >
Scroll down to Publication Date and select "Last 10 years".

Keyword Searching on Proquest
Proquest contains academic journal articles and Ebooks.
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Ensure the full-text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Enter some keywords and click on the search button or hit the enter key.

Keyword Searching Science Direct (Elsevier)
Science Direct contains academic journal articles.
To access this database, click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal Login details >
Enter some keywords relating to your topic.
You can access any articles with a PDF attachment. If other articles are interesting but not available, please contact the library to enquire about access. Sometimes we can get them through other means.

Keyword Searching on Taylor & Francis
Taylor & Francis contains academic journal articles.
To access this database, click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal login details >
Enter some keywords relating to your topic and hit enter >
Some results will appear but click on the 'Only show content I have full access to' (on the left hand side of the screen) and wait for the results to reload.
You will be able to open any articles with a green ticked section or yellow padlocked section in the lower right hand corner of each record.

Keyword Searching on SAGE
SAGE contains academic journal articles.
To access this database, click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal Login details >
Click the 'Advanced search' button
Ensure the ' Only content to which I have full access' button is selected >
Enter some keywords relating to your topic.

Australasian Legal Scholarship Library (AustLII)
The Australasian Legal Scholarship Library contains a range of law journals.
To access these articles, click on the link above and enter keywords relating to your topic. It's free and there is no need to log in.
Note: If you use this database ensure you select longer articles with extensive referencing. If you come across any short articles (1-3) pages with pictures, don't use them for this particular assignment. They are trade rather than academic publications.

Trends & issues in crime and criminal justice
This list of bulletins may provide some themes / ideas for your topic.
Research reports
This list of bulletins may provide some themes / ideas for your topic.

Sentencing Advisory Council (Vic)
Contains statistics on sentencing in Victoria
Australian Institute of Criminology Statistics Page
Australian Bureau of Statistics
Contains statistical information on victims of crime, offenders, prisoners in Australia, etc.
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
Click on the link above and search for the following (if appropriate for you topic):
Youth justice in Australia
Drug use
Prisoner health