ACAP Learning Resources: CRIM2024 Transnational Crime: Case Study

Case Study 2024, T3

Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue - Example 1
Advanced Search Page.
Select articles in the material type box and type the following words:
Box 1: (change contains to contains exact phrase) wildlife crime
Box 2: (leave contains) law OR laws OR legislation
Hit the enter key and after the results load, change the date range to 2012-2024 and apply the change. Then select peer reviewed from the options on the left and apply the change.
Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue - Example 2
Advanced Search Page.
Select articles in the material type box and type the following words:
Box 1: (change contains to contains exact phrase) Australian wildlife
Box 2: (leave contains) trafficking
Hit the enter key and after the results load, change the date range to 2012-2024 and apply the change.
For this example, peer reviewed was NOT selected to obtain a wider range or articles.
Keyword Searching on Ebook Central
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP details >
Try the following keyword searches >
"wildlife trade"
wildlife smuggling
endangered species
transnational crime (these books may contain a chapter on the animal trade).
After the search results have loaded, click on the (linked) title of the book you would like to read >
Click on the Read Online button.
Keyword Searching on Australasian Legal Scholarship Library (AustLII)
Click on the link above and enter the following keywords:
"wildlife trade" (then click on the by Date option to ensure the most recent articles on p.1)
wildlife smuggling
Keyword Searching on EBSCO
Click on the link above >
Login using your ACAP login details >
Click on continue when the choose databases screen loads >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches:
wildlife trade
wildlife smuggling
poaching AND prevention
wildlife trade AND prevention AND Australia
wildlife trade AND prevention AND Africa
wildlife smuggling
Keyword Searching on Proquest
Click on the link above and login using your ACAP login details.
Ensure the full-text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked.
Try the following keyword searches:
"illegal wildlife trade"
"wildlife smuggling"
"transnational environmental crime" AND animal* AND prevention*
"wildlife trafficking" AND prevention* AND Australia
"transnational environmental crime" AND animal* AND treat*
"transnational environmental crime" AND animal* AND legislation*
"transnational environmental crime" AND animal* AND Australia*
"transnational environmental crime" AND animal* AND Africa*
"transnational environmental crime" AND animal* AND Asia*
"illegal wildlife trade" AND prevention
"illegal wildlife trade" AND policing
"illegal wildlife trade" AND legislation
Keyword Searching on SSRN
Click on the link above and try the following keyword searches:
illegal wildlife trade
wildlife smuggling
Keyword Searching on Taylor & Francis
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal details.
Enter the following keywords and press enter:
"illegal wildlife"
"wildlife trade"
"transnational environmental crime" animal
"wildlife trafficking" treaties
"wildlife trafficking" prevention
"wildlife trafficking" conventions
"wildlife trafficking" legislation
"wildlife trafficking" policing
"wildlife trafficking" detection
fighting wildlife crime
After doing a search, tick the 'Only show content I have full access to' on the left and wait for the results to reload (a few seconds).
Keyword Searching on AustLII
Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword search:
wildlife trafficking
Keyword Searching on Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword searches:
illegal wildlife trade + Australia
illegal wildlife trade + Asia Pacific
illegal wildlife trade + impact
illegal wildlife trade + impact + Australia
illegal wildlife trade + Infectious diseases
Once the search results have loaded, click on the Custom Range option in the upper left hand side of the screen >
Enter the dates 2010 - 2024 and hit the enter key again.
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

Try searching for the following articles on Google Scholar:
- An overview of international wildlife trade from Southeast Asia
- A comparative analysis of wildlife trafficking in Australia, New Zealand and the United Kingdom
- From poachers to protectors: engaging local communities in solutions to illegal wildlife trade
- Wildlife crime: a conceptual integration, literature review, and methodological critique
- Corruption and wildlife trafficking: Three case studies involving Asia
- Prevention of Wildlife Trafficking and Poaching In Tanzania by Using Forensic Science Technological Approach
- The final round: combating armed actors, organized crime and wildlife trafficking
- A comparative analysis of wildlife trafficking in Australia, New Zealand and the United Kingdom
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.
Conference: Illegal Wildlife Trade Conference 2018
Illegal Wildlife Trade Conference: London 11-12 October 2018.
Website: Wildlife trade and the law (Australia)
Published by the Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment.
Website: International wildlife trade
Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment. (2021, November 1). International wildlife trade
Website: Wildlife and Forest Crime
Published by the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime.
Report: Trade in elephant ivory and rhino horn
Joint Committee on Law Enforcement. (2018). Trade in elephant ivory and rhino horn. Parliament of Australia.
Report: Organised crime in Australia
Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission. (2017). Organised crime in Australia.
Report: Illegal Trade in Environmentally Sensitive Goods
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. (2012). Illegal trade in environmentally sensitive goods.
Report: Detecting and preventing new incursions of exotic animals in Australia
Henderson, W., & Bomford, M. (2011). Detecting and preventing new incursions of exotic animals in Australia. Invasive Animals Cooperative Research Centre.
Report: World Wildlife Crime Report 2024
United Nations Office on Drugs & Crime. (2024).World wildlife crime report: trafficking in protected species.

Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue - Example 1
Advanced Search Page.
Select articles in the material type box and type the following words:
Box 1: (leave contains in the drop down box) small arms trafficking
Hit the enter key and after the results load, change the date range to 2012-2024 and apply the change. Then select peer reviewed from the options on the left and apply the change.
Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue - Example 2
Advanced Search Page.
Select articles in the material type box >
Box 1: Change contains to 'contains exact phrase' and type the following words:
small arms
Box 2: (leave contains) and type trafficking
Hit the enter key and after the results load, change the date range to 2012-2024 and apply the change. Then select peer reviewed from the options on the left and apply the change.
Keyword Searching on Ebook Central
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP details >
Try the following keyword search >
arms trade
transnational crime (these books may contain a chapter on the arms trade).
Click on the (linked) title of the book you would like to read >
Click on the Read Online button.
Keyword Searching on Australasian Legal Scholarship Library (AustLII)
Click on the link above and try the following keyword searches:
“arms trade”
"small arms"
Click on the By Date link above the search results so that the most recent articles load first.
Keyword Searching on EBSCO
Click on the link above >
Login using your ACAP login details >
Click on continue when the choose databases screen loads >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches:
"illegal arms" AND Australia
arms trafficking
Keyword Searching on Proquest
Click on the link above and login using your ACAP login details.
Ensure the full-text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked.
Try the following keyword searches:
“arms trade” and Australia
"arms trade" and globali*
"illegal arms trade"
“arms trafficking” and Australia
Keyword Searching on Taylor & Francis
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal details.
Enter the following keywords and press enter:
"illegal arms"
"arms trafficking"
After doing a search, tick the 'Only show content I have full access to' on the left and hit enter again.

Search for the following article on Taylor & Francis:
- Customs and Illegal Trade: Old Game - New Rules
AIC Website
Click on the link above >
Search for the following publications:
"Firearm trafficking and serious and organised crime gangs"
ACIC
Click on the link above >
Search for firearms
Report: Organised crime in Australia
Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission. (2017). Organised crime in Australia.
Report: Enhancing the national picture of illicit firearms
Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission. (2016). Enhancing the national picture of illicit firearms.
UNODC study on firearms
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime. (2015). UNODC study on firearms: A study on the transnational nature of and routes and
modus operandi used in trafficking in firearms.
Website: Small Arms Survey Briefing Papers
The Small Arms Survey provides expertise on all aspects of small arms and armed violence.
Website: Global Firearms Programme
Published by the UNODC.
Website: The Arms Trade Treaty
The landmark Arms Trade Treaty (ATT), regulating the international trade in conventional arms – from small arms to battle tanks, combat aircraft and warships – entered into force on 24 December 2014.
Website: Illicit Arms Flows Data
Published by the UNODC.
Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword searches:
"illegal arms" + impact
Once the search results have loaded, click on the Custom Range option in the upper left hand side of the screen >
Enter the dates 2010 - 2024 and hit the enter key again.
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

Search for the following articles on Google Scholar:
- The 2021 small arms trade transparency barometer
- Arms trafficking + Marsh (chapter from the Routledge Handbook of Smuggling)
- Addressing New Threats in the Atlantic Basin Security Environment (click on all 12 versions under the abstract and then click on [PDF] academia on the right)
- National legislation to control conventional arms and address the illicit arms trade.
- Illicit small arms prices: introducing two new datasets
- The Arms Trade Treaty: Achievements, Failings, Future
- The black and gray market arms trade in support of insurgencies
- Criminal liability for the illegal circulation of arms in criminal legislation of foreign countries
- (Un) lock and (un) loaded: regulating 3d-printed firearms in the open-source era after the 2013 hysteria
- The emergence of 3D-printed firearms: An analysis of media and law enforcement reports
- Printing insecurity? The security implications of 3d-printing of weapons
- Click, print, fire: 3D printing and the Arms Trade Treaty
- 3-D printing the bomb? The nuclear nonproliferation challenge
- Arms and the Man: Strategic Trade Control Challenges of 3D Printing
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue - Example
Advanced Search Page.
Select articles in the material type box and type the following words:
Box 1: (change contains to contains exact phrase) cocaine trafficking
Box 2: (leave contains) supply reduction
Box 3: (leave contains) Australia
Hit the enter key and after the results load, change the date range to 2012-2024 and apply the change. Then select peer reviewed from the options on the left and apply the change.
Keyword Searching on Ebook Central
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP login details >
Try the following keyword searches >
cocaine and "drug trafficking"
transnational crime (these books may have chapters on the drug trade)
Click on the (linked) title of the book you would like to read >
Click on the Read Online button.
Keyword Searching on EBSCO
Click on the link above >
Login using your ACAP login details >
Click on continue when the choose databases screen loads >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches:
drug trafficking AND cocaine AND Australia
drug trafficking AND cocaine
cocaine AND drug control
cocaine AND drug policy
cocaine AND drug control AND Australia
cocaine AND drug policy AND Australia
Keyword Searching on Proquest
Click on the link above and login using your ACAP login details.
Ensure the full-text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked.
Try the following keyword searches:
"cocaine trafficking" AND Austral*
"cocaine trade" AND Austral*
"cocaine trafficking" AND "drug control"
"cocaine trafficking" AND "drug control" AND Australia
Keyword Searching on RAND
Click on the link above and enter the following keyword into the search box:
cocaine
more...less...
Rand, an American think tank, has produced a number of articles and reports on drug trafficking in the Americas. Most of these publications can be downloaded for free.
Keyword Searching on the AIC Website
Click on the link above >
Search for the following: cocaine
Report: National wastewater drug monitoring program
Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission. National wastewater drug monitoring programs.
Report: Illicit Drug Data Report
Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission. Illicit drug data reports.
These reports contains information on drug seizures.
Report: Legislative thresholds for drug possession and traffic
Hughes, C. (2010, February). Legislative thresholds for drug possession and traffic: an overview of State and Territory differences in Australia (Drug Policy Modelling Program, No.18). National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre.
more...less...
Use this information as a guide and check the thresholds against current legislation.
Report: Organised crime in Australia
Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission. (2017). Organised crime in Australia.
Report: Drug trafficking in the Pacific Islands: The impact of transnational crime
Sousa-Santos, J. (2022, February 16). Drug trafficking in the Pacific Islands: The impact of transnational crime. Lowy Institute.
Website: The cocaine market
Published by the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime.
Website: Drug trafficking
Published by the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime.
Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword searches:
cocaine trade + impact
"cocaine trade" + Australia + impact
Once the search results have loaded, click on the Custom Range option in the upper left hand side of the screen >
Enter the dates 2010 - 2024 and hit the enter key again.
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can by found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

Search for the following articles on Google Scholar:
- The Port-Crime Interface A Report on Organised Crime & Corruption in Seaports (see from p. 74, do a find in page search for cocaine too).
- Governing cocaine supply and organized crime from Latin America and the Caribbean
- Research as due diligence: What can supply-side interventions accomplish and at what cost?
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.
Website: Drug Trafficking, Selling and Cultivation
Published by the Commonwealth Department of Public Prosecutions.

Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue - Example
Advanced Search Page.
Select articles in the material type box and type the following words:
Box 1: (change contains to contains exact phrase) heroin trafficking
Box 2: (leave contains) supply reduction
Box 3: (leave contains) Australia
Hit the enter key and after the results load, change the date range to 2010-2024 and apply the change. Then select peer reviewed from the options on the left and apply the change.
Keyword Searching on Ebook Central
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP login details >
Try the following keyword searches >
“drug trafficking”
transnational crime (these books may have chapters on the drug trade)
Click on the (linked) title of the book you would like to read >
Click on the Read Online button.
Keyword Searching on EBSCO
Click on the link above >
Login using your ACAP login details > Click on continue when the choose databases screen loads >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches:
"heroin trafficking"
drug trafficking and heroin
drug trafficking and heroin and Australia
heroin AND drug control
heroin AND drug policy
heroin AND drug control AND Australia
heroin AND prohibition AND Australia
heroin AND supply control AND Australia
heroin trafficking AND drug policy AND Australia
Keyword Searching on Proquest
Click on the link above and login using your ACAP login details.
Ensure the full-text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked.
Try the following keyword searches:
"heroin trafficking" and Australia*
heroin trade and Australia* and law enforcement
"heroin trafficking" AND government AND Australia
"heroin trafficking" AND law enforcement AND Australia
illicit heroin AND trafficking
illicit heroin AND policy
Keyword Searching on Australasian Legal Scholarship Library (AustLII)
Click on the link above and try the following keyword searches:
"drug trafficking" and heroin
"heroin trade" and traffic*
Keyword Searching on the AIC Website
Click on the link above and try the following keyword searches:
"heroin trade"
"heroin trafficking"
Report: Illicit Drug Data Report
Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission. Illicit drug data report.
This report contains information on drug seizures.
Report: Legislative thresholds for drug possession and traffic
Hughes, C 2010, 'Legislative thresholds for drug possession and traffic: an overview of State and Territory differences in Australia,' Drug Policy Modelling Program, no.18, pp. 1-3.
Note: Most of this report will apply to part 2 but you may find some information for part 1.
more...less...
Use this information as a guide and check the thresholds against current legislation.
Report: Organised crime in Australia
Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission 2017, Organised crime in Australia, Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission, Canberra
Report: Afghan opiate trafficking through the southern route.
Mili, H., Sati, S., & Townsend, J. (2015). Afghan opiate trafficking through the southern route. United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime.
Report: High rollers
Coyne, J., & Westendorf, T. (2021). 'High rollers' A study of criminal profits along Australia’s heroin and methamphetamine supply chains. Australian Strategic Policy Institute.
Website: Drug trafficking
Published by the UNODC.
Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword searches:
"illicit heroin" + impact + australia
Once the search results have loaded, click on the Custom Range option in the upper left hand side of the screen >
Enter the dates 2010 - 2024 and hit the enter key again.
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

Search for the following articles on Google Scholar:
- How did we get here? Heroin and fentanyl trafficking trends: a law enforcement perspective

Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue - Example
Advanced Search Page.
Select articles in the material type box and type the following words:
Box 1: (change contains to contains exact phrase) money laundering
Box 2: (leave contains) Australia
Hit the enter key and after the results load, change the date range to 2012-2024 and apply the change. Then select peer reviewed from the options on the left and apply the change.
Keyword Searching on Ebook Central
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP details >
Search for the following book:
- The changing face of corruption in the asia pacific : current perspectives and future challenges (ch. 9)
Try the following keyword searches >
"money laundering"
transnational crime (these books may contain a chapter on money laundering).
Click on the (linked) title of the book you would like to read >
Click on the Read Online button.
Keyword Searching on Australasian Legal Scholarship Library (AustLII)
Click on the link above and enter the following keywords:
"money laundering"
After the results have loaded, click on the grey by date tab to see the most recently published results at the top of the list.
Keyword Searching on EBSCO
Click on the link above >
Login using your ACAP login details >
Click on continue when the choose databases screen loads >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches:
"money laundering"
Many of these results will be useful for part 2 but you may also find some information for part 1.
Keyword Searching on Proquest
Click on the link above and login using your ACAP login details.
Ensure the full-text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked.
Try the following keyword searches:
"money laundering" AND Australia
"money laundering" AND legislation
"money laundering" AND law enforcement
"money laundering" AND prevention
"money laundering" AND challenges
"money laundering" AND bitcoin
"money laundering" AND cryptocurren*
Keyword Searching on Taylor & Francis
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal details.
Enter the following keywords and press enter:
"money laundering" Australia
"money laundering" challenges
"money laundering" prevention
"money laundering" regulation
"money laundering" bitcoin
"money laundering" cryptocurrency
After the search results load, click on the only content I have full access to and wait for the results to reload.
Keyword Searching on SSRN
Click on the link above and try the following keyword searches:
"money laundering" and Australia
"money laundering" prevention
"money laundering" regulation
Information is available on money laundering/control in other countries on this site too.
Use the same keywords listed above but substitute Australia for another country and see what is available.

Search for the following article on SSRN:
A Comparative Analysis of the Extent of Money Laundering in Australia, UAE, UK and the USA
Report: Serious financial crime in Australia
Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission. (2017). Serious financial crime in Australia 2017.
Report: Organised crime in Australia
Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission. (2017). Organised crime in Australia.
Website: UNODC on money-laundering and countering the financing of terrorism
Published by the UNODC.
Website: Money Laundering
Published by the Commonwealth Department of Public Prosecutions.
Website: Money Laundering in Australia 2011
Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre. (2019, July 17). Money laundering in Australia 2011.
Website: Anti-money laundering and counter-terrorism financing
Attorney-General's Department. (n.d.). Money laundering and terrorism financing.
Keyword Searching on the AIC Website
Click on the link above >
Select 'Newest first' in the relevance box >
Enter the following keywords:
"money laundering"

Search for the following reports on the AIC website:
- Impacts of money laundering and terrorism financing: Final report (published 2024)
- Money laundering and terrorism financing risks posed by alternative remittance in Australia (look on the landing page (1st page clicked) because more reports on this topic are listed down the bottom).
Articles on Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following article:
- Do trendy technologies facilitate money laundering
- Money laundering in Australian casinos
- Detection of illicit behaviours and mining for contrast patterns (Thesis - Do a ctrl f/find in page command for the word money. Also, see pages 2-6. Discusses difficulties with measuring this crime).
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue - Example
Advanced Search Page.
Select articles in the material type box and type the following words:
Box 1: (change contains to contains exact phrase) human trafficking
Box 2: (leave contains) Australia
Hit the enter key and after the results load, change the date range to 2012-2024 and apply the change. Then select peer reviewed from the options on the left and apply the change.
Keyword Searching on Ebook Central
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP login details >
Try the following keyword searches >
“human trafficking”
transnational crime (these books may have chapters on the drug trade)
Click on the (linked) title of the book you would like to read >
Click on the Read Online button.
Keyword Searching on EBSCO
Click on the link above >
Login using your ACAP login details >
Click on continue when the choose databases screen loads >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches:
"human trafficking"
"human trafficking" AND harm*
"human trafficking" AND government AND Australia
Keyword Searching on Proquest
Click on the link above >
Login using your ACAP login details >
Ensure the full-text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches:
"human trafficking"
Keyword Searching on Taylor & Francis
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal details.
Enter the following keywords and press enter:
"human trafficking"
"human trafficking" prevention
"human trafficking" regulation
After doing a search, tick the 'Only show content I have full access to' on the left and hit enter again.

Search for the following article title on Taylor & Francis:
Prostitution ideology and trafficking policy
Keyword Searching on Australasian Legal Scholarship Library (AustLII)
Click on the link above and enter the following keywords:
"human trafficking"
Keyword Searching on the Australian Institute of Criminology Website
Click on the link above and try the following keyword search:
"human trafficking"

Search for the following publication titles:
"People trafficking in Australia"
Human trafficking to Australia: a research challenge (discusses difficulties in measuring and quantifying this crime).
Keyword Searching on SSRN
Click on the link above and try the following keyword searches:
"human trafficking"
Report: Hidden in plain sight: An inquiry into establishing a Modern Slavery Act in Australia
Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and Trade. (2017). Hidden in plain sight: An inquiry into establishing a Modern Slavery Act in Australia. Parliament of Australia.
Do a ctrl f/find in page command for traffic
Plan: National Action Plan to Combat Modern Slavery 2020-25
Published by the Department of Home Affairs.
Website: Statistics
University of Queensland, (2015). Statistics.
Website: Human trafficking and migrant smuggling
Published by the United Nations Office on Drugs & Crime.
People Smuggling & Trafficking Page on Websites by Topic
See the People Smuggling & Trafficking Page for more links on this subject.
News: Bodies found in Essex container just 'tip of the iceberg' for multi-billion-dollar business
Besser, L (2019, October 25). Bodies found in Essex container just 'tip of the iceberg' for multi-billion-dollar business. ABC News.
Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword searches:
"human trafficking" + Australia
"human trafficking" + regulation
"human trafficking" + prevention
trafficking + Natasha trade
Once the search results have loaded, click on the Custom Range option in the upper left hand side of the screen >
Enter the dates 2010 - 2024 and hit the enter key again.
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue - Example
Advanced Search Page.
Select articles in the material type box and type the following words:
Box 1: (change contains to contains exact phrase) maritime piracy
Box 2:(leave contains) Australia
Hit the enter key and after the results load, change the date range to 2010-2024 and apply the change. Then select peer reviewed from the options on the left and apply the change.
Keyword Searching on Ebook Central
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP login details >
Try the following keyword searches >
piracy
transnational crime (these books may have chapters on the drug trade)
Click on the (linked) title of the book you would like to read >
Click on the Read Online button.
Keyword Searching on EBSCO
Click on the link above >
Login using your ACAP login details >
Click on continue when the choose databases screen loads >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches:
maritime piracy
Keyword Searching on Australasian Legal Scholarship Library (AustLII)
Click on the link above and enter the following keywords:
"maritime piracy"
Keyword Searching on Proquest
Click on the link above and login using your ACAP login details.
Ensure the full-text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked.
Try the following keyword searches:
"maritime piracy"
Keyword Searching on Taylor & Francis
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal details.
Enter the following keywords and press enter:
"maritime piracy" Australia impact
maritime piracy Asia
maritime piracy Africa
maritime piracy Europe
After doing a search, tick the 'Only show content I have full access to' on the left and hit enter again.
Keyword Searching on SSRN
Click on the link above and enter the following keywords:
"maritime piracy"
Book: Australia's response to piracy
Forbes, A. (2011). Australia's response to piracy: a legal perspective (Papers in Australian Maritime Affairs, No. 31). Sea Power Centre,
Report: Piracy and armed robbery against ships
ICC International Maritime Bureau. (2023). Piracy and armed robbery against ships: January-September.
This report contains figures relating to piracy and armed robbery on ships around the world.
Website: Global Maritime Crime Programme
Published by the UNODC.
Website: Piracy and armed robbery against ships
Published by the International Maritime Organisation.
Website: Maritime Piracy
Published by RAND.
Quite a bit on Indonesia here...
Maritime Piracy Section on Websites by Topic
See the Maritime Piracy section on this page for more links on this subject.
Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword searches:
maritime piracy + impact + Australia
Once the search results have loaded, click on the Custom Range option in the upper left hand side of the screen >
Enter the dates 2010 - 2024 and hit the enter key again.
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can by found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.
Piracy Map
This live map shows all piracy and armed robbery incidents reported to IMB Piracy Reporting Centre during 2023.
more...less...
Published by the ICC International Maritime Bureau

Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue - Example
Advanced Search Page.
Select articles in the material type box and type the following words:
Box 1: (change contains to contains exact phrase) people smuggling
Box 2:(leave contains) Australia
Hit the enter key and after the results load, change the date range to 2012-2024 and apply the change. Then select peer reviewed from the options on the left and apply the change.
Keyword Searching on Ebook Central
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP login details >
Try the following keyword searches >
“people smuggling"
Click on the (linked) title of the book you would like to read >
Click on the Read Online button.

Search for the following book on Ebook Central:
- Routledge Handbook of Transnational Organized Crime (ch. 25)
Keyword Searching on EBSCO
Click on the link above >
Login using your ACAP login details >
Click on continue when the choose databases screen loads >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches:
"people smuggling" AND effect*
"people smuggling" AND prevent*
"people smuggling" AND government AND Australia
"people smuggling" AND policy AND Australia
"people smuggling" AND legislation AND Australia
Keyword Searching on Proquest
Click on the link above and login using your ACAP login details.
Ensure the full-text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked.
Try the following keyword searches:
"people smuggling" AND Australia AND impact
"people smuggling" AND Australia AND effect*
"people smuggling" AND Australia AND policy
"people smuggling" AND Australia AND legislation
"people smuggling" AND Australia AND "stopping the boats"
You can also try the searches above without the word Australia in them.
Keyword Searching on Taylor & Francis
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal details.
Enter the following keywords and press enter:
"people smuggling" Australia
"people smuggling" policy Australia
"people smuggling" government Australia
"people smuggling" prevention
After doing a search, tick the 'Only show content I have full access to' on the left and hit enter again.
Keyword Searching on SSRN
Click on the link above and try the following keyword search:
"people smuggling"
Article: People smuggling versus trafficking in persons: what is the difference
Australian Institute of Criminology 2008, 'People smuggling versus trafficking in persons: what is the difference?', Transnational Crime Brief No. 2, viewed 31 October 2018
Keyword Searching on Australasian Legal Scholarship Library (AustLII)
Click on the link above and try the following keyword search:
"people smuggling"
Website: UNODC on human trafficking and migrant smuggling
Published by the UNODC.
People Smuggling & Trafficking Page on Websites by Topic
See the People Smuggling & Trafficking Page for more links on this subject.
Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword searches:
"people smuggling" + impact + Australia
Once the search results have loaded, click on the Custom Range option in the upper left hand side of the screen >
Enter the dates 2010 - 2024 and hit the enter key again.
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

Search for the following articles on Google Scholar:
- Criminal-Law and Criminalistics Aspects of Distinguishing People Smuggling from Human Trafficking
- Why the EU should consider decriminalising people smuggling
- Law Enforcement in The Handling of People Smuggling Crime in Indonesia