CRIM2064 Comparative Criminology

Click on the link above to access the following search:
Articles has been selected in the material type box and the following terms have been entered into the search boxes.
(contains) Box 1: comparative homicide rates
After the results have loaded, change the date range and apply the change. Select peer reviewed articles and apply the change.

Try the following search:
(contains) Box 1: homicide rates
(contains) Box 2: comparative statistics
Remember to change the date range and apply the change and also select the peer reviewed option and apply the change.

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Search for the following book titles >
- The Handbook of Homicide (see part III)
- Studying and Preventing Homicide : Issues and Challenges (ch. 3)
- Homicide Law in Comparative Perspective
Click on the title of the book you would like to read >
Click on the Read Online button.

Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal log in details >
Search for the following articles:
- Cross-national homicide: a review of the current literature
- The Belief in State Legitimacy and Homicide: A Cross-National Analysis
- Comparison of a national sample of homicides committed by lone and multiple perpetrators
- Can we compare violence data across countries?
Some results will appear but click on the 'Only show content I have full access to' (on the left hand side of the screen) and wait for the results to reload (a few seconds). You will be able to open any articles with a green ticked section or yellow padlocked section in the lower right hand corner of each record.

Click on the link above >
Log in using your student portal details >
Search for the following articles:
- Drug-related homicide in Europe—First review of data and sources
- Violence in Colombia and Mexico: trend and impact on life expectancy of homicide mortality between 1998 and 2015

Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
GENERAL TRENDS
- What causes large-scale variation in homicide rates
- Homicide data in Europe: Definitions, sources, and statistics
- Assessing the comparability of injury mortality statistics with reference to suicide, classification systems, and firearms legislation
- Offence definitions in the European sourcebook of crime and criminal justice statistics and their influence on data quality and comparability
RUSSIA
- What is Russia's real homicide rate? Statistical reconstruction and the 'decivilizing process'
- Challenges to the veracity and the international comparability of Russian homicide statistics
MEXICO
- Characterization of Homicides in Mexico: Analysis of 2015–2022
- Violence and homicide in Mexico: a global health issue
SCANDINAVIA
- Homicide in Finland, the Netherlands and Sweden
- Homicide in Denmark 1992–2016
USA
- Violent death rates: the US compared with other high-income OECD countries, 2010
- The impact of state firearm laws on homicide and suicide deaths in the USA, 1991–2016: a panel study
- USA violent cause mortality: Analysis of trends and the political controversies of prevention
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record.

United Office on Drugs and Crime. (2019). Global study on homicide 2019.

Search for the following articles on the ACAP Library Catalogue:
- The Global Prevalence of Sexual Assault: A Systematic Review of International Research Since 2010
- Analytical approaches to differential extraction for sexual assault evidence
- Police reporting by sexual assault victims in Western and in non-Western countries
- Beliefs about sexual assault in India and Britain are explained by attitudes toward women and hostile sexism
- Offence definitions in the European sourcebook of crime and criminal justice statistics and their influence on data quality and comparability
- Attrition and Conviction Rates of Sexual Offences in Europe

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Search for the following book titles >
- Textbook on Criminology (ch.4 - provides a general overview about crime statistics).
Click on the title of the book you would like to read >
Click on the Read Online button.

Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal log in details >
Search for the following articles:
- Can we compare violence data across countries?
Some results will appear but click on the 'Only show content I have full access to' (on the left hand side of the screen) and wait for the results to reload (a few seconds). You will be able to open any articles with a green ticked section or yellow padlocked section in the lower right hand corner of each record.

Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- "A call for a more permanent international definition of rape"
- How to lie with rape statistics: America's hidden rape crisis
- Beliefs about Sexual Assault in India and Britain are Explained by Attitudes Toward Women and Hostile Sexism
- "Sexual violence in India: addressing gaps between policy and implementation"
- "The prevalence rate of sexual violence worldwide: a trend analysis"
- The scope of male rape: A selective review of research, policy and practice
- The nature and extent of sexual assault
and abuse in Australia
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record.

Daly, K., & Bouhours, B. (2010). Rape and attrition in the legal process: A comparative analysis of five countries. Crime and justice, 39(1), 565-650.

Click on the link above to access the following search:
Articles has been selected in the material type box and the following terms have been entered into the search boxes.
(change contains to is exact) Box 1: drug trafficking
(change contains to is exact) Box 2: cross national
After the results have loaded, change the date range and apply the change. The select peer reviewed articles and apply the change.

Try the following search:
(change contains to is exact) Box 1: drug trafficking
(contains) Box 2: comparison
Remember to change the date range and apply the change and also select the peer reviewed option and apply the change.

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Try the following keyword search:
"drug trafficking" AND cross-national
Click on the title of the book you would like to read >
Click on the Read Online button.

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal log in details >
Ensure the full text and scholarly boxes are ticked >
Try these searches:
illicit drug statistics AND comparison
("illicit drug" OR "illicit drugs") AND statistics AND worldwide

Click on the link above >
log in using your ACAP student portal log in details >
Search for the following articles:
- Producing the 'problem of drugs': A cross national-comparison of 'recovery'discourse in two Australian and British reports
- Cross-national comparison of adolescent drinking and cannabis use in the United States, Canada, and the Netherlands
- Assessing the concordance between illicit drug laws on the books and drug law enforcement
- National-level drug policy and young people's illicit drug use: A multilevel analysis of the European Union

Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- What Can Be Learned from Cross-National Comparisons of Data on Illegal Drugs?
- Global statistics on alcohol, tobacco and illicit drug use: 2017 status report
- Comparison of pharmaceutical, illicit drug, alcohol, nicotine and caffeine levels in wastewater with sale, seizure and consumption data for 8 European cities
- Comparison of illegal drug use pattern in Taiwan and Korea from 2006 to 2014
- Comparison Between Indonesia and the United States in Enforcement of Narcotics Illicit Trafficking
- A comparative analysis of drug-trafficking trends in the Middle East/Central Asia and East/Southeast Asia (thesis)
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record.

United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime. (2022). World drug report.

Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- Reduction in homicide and violence in Scotland is largely explained by fewer gangs and less knife crime
- The rising burden of penetrating knife injuries
-
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record.