CRIM3014 Gender & Crime

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP login details >
Search for the following book titles:
- Criminal Law Guidebook : New South Wales, Victoria and South Australia : New South Wales, Victoria and South Australia (ch. 6)
- Principles of Criminal Law (see from 635. Use page intro box (upper right) to jump directly to page 635. This box may appear differently on smaller browser windows and be hidden behind 3 horizontal lines instead).
- Rape Justice: Beyond the Criminal Law
After the search results have loaded, click on the (linked) title of the book you would like to read >
Click on the Read Online button.

Click on the link above >
Login using your ACAP login details >
Click on continue when the choose databases screen loads >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches:
male rape victims
male rape AND reporting
gay AND rape AND victim
female rape AND Australia
rape victims AND Australia
rape victims AND Australia AND criminal justice
sexual assault victims AND police AND Australia
female sex offenders AND Australia
sex offenders AND Australia

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Select: Only content I have full access to >
Try the following search:
male victims AND rape
rape victims AND Australia
female rape victims AND Australia
female sex offenders AND Australia
"sex offenders" AND Australia

Click on the link above and log in using your Navitas details >
Try the following keyword search:
"male victims" rape
"male victims" rape Australia

Search for the following articles on Taylor & Francis:
- Legal representation for sexual assault victims—Possibilities for law reform

Australian Institute of Health & Welfare. (2020). Sexual assault in Australia

Published by ANROWS.

Ting, I., Scott, N., & Palmer, A. (2020, January 28). Rough justice: How police are failing survivors of sexual assault. ABC News.

Click on the link above >
Try the following searches:
"female sex offenders" + Australia
"male rape victims" + Australia
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

Search for the following articles on Google Scholar:
- Observing court responses to victims of rape and sexual assault
- Sexual violence and innovative responses to justice
- The Preventive Detention of' Dangerous' Sex Offenders in Australia: Perspectives at the Coalface
- The historical evolution of sex offender risk management
- Female sex offenders and pariah femininities: Rewriting the sexual scripts
- More, longer, tougher… or is it finally time for a different approach to the post-sentence management of sex offenders in Australia

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP login details >
Search for the following book titles:
- Intimate Partner Violence in LGBTQ Lives
- Global and Regional Estimates of Violence against Women: Prevalence and Health Effects of Intimate Partner Violence and non-partner Sexual Violence
- Violence Against Women : Contemporary Examination of Intimate Partner Violence
After the search results have loaded, click on the (linked) title of the book you would like to read >
Click on the Read Online button.

Click on the link above >
Login using your ACAP login details >
Click on continue when the choose databases screen loads >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches:
intimate partner violence AND gender AND Australia
intimate partner violence AND victims AND Australia
intimate partner violence AND gay AND Australia
intimate partner violence AND same sex AND Australia

Click on the link above and log in using your Navitas details >
Try the following keyword search:
"intimate partner violence" gender victims Australia
"intimate partner violence" offenders Australia

Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword searches:
"intimate partner violence" AND gender AND Australia
"intimate partner violence" AND "male victim"
"intimate partner violence" AND "same sex"

Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword search:
Intimate partner violence

Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword search:
intimate partner violence

Click on the link above >
Search for the following:
"intimate partner"

Published by the QLD Courts.

Click on the link above >
Search for the following article:
- Differentiating male and female intimate partner homicide perpetrators
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP login details >
Search for the following book titles:
- Crime, Criminality and Criminal Justice eBook (see from p. 182)
- Criminal Law Guidebook: New South Wales, Victoria and South Australia (ch. 7)
- Principles of Criminal Law (see from 581. Use page intro box (which appears as Page i, upper right) to jump directly to page 581).
- Crime, Culture and Violence : Understanding How Masculinity and Identity Shapes Offending
After the search results have loaded, click on the (linked) title of the book you would like to read >
Click on the Read Online button.

Click on the link above >
Login using your ACAP login details >
Click on continue when the choose databases screen loads >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches:
homicide AND gender AND Australia

Search for the following article on EBSCO
- sex differences in serial killers

Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword search:
homicide
These publications are general - you will have to do a crtl f/find in page search for the words male, female or gender.

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Select: Only content I have full access to >
Click on the + symbol to add an extra box >
Try the following search:
homicide AND gender AND Australia
male victims AND homicide AND Australia
female victims AND homicide AND Australia
gay victims of homicide AND Australia (note: the homosexual advance defense has been abolished in Vic.).

Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal details (you may need to add your institution and it will recognise the Australian College of Applied Professions) >
Select the Scholarly Journals button above the search box >
Ensure the full-text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword search:
gender AND Australia* n/5 homicide

Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- Gendered Entitlement or Generally Violent
- Criminal careers among female perpetrators of family and nonfamily homicide in Australia
- Societal determinants of violent death
- Serial homicide in Australia, 1820-2020
- Counting dead women in Australia: An in-depth case review of femicide
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

Victorian Law Reform Commission. (2016, November 22). Victims of crime in the criminal trial process: Report.

Click on the link above >
Search for the following publications"
Crime Victimisation, Australia
Recorded Crime - Offenders

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP login details >
Search for the following book title:
- Crime, Victims and Policy International Contexts, Local Experiences (see ch. 9)
- The gender of crime
Click on the (linked) title of the book you would like to read >
Click on the Read Online button.

Try the following keyword search on ebook central:
gender crime

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP login details >
Search for the following book title:
- Youth, crime, and justice: Learning through cases (this book contains a lot of case studies so if you need to see some examples of case study structure then have a look through this book)