ACAP Learning Resources: CRIM3934 Cybercrime: Report

Report 2024, T1

Books on the Library Catalogue
Click on the link above >
Select books in the material type >
Search for the following book:
Cybercrime and society (4th ed - see chapters 4-6)
Click on available online >
Click on miscellaneous ebooks >
Log in using your ACAP student portal login details.
Articles Available from the Library Catalogue
Click on the link above >
Select articles in the material type box >
Search for the following article titles:
- Towards understanding cybersecurity capability in Australian healthcare
- What the hack: Reconsidering responses to hacking
Books from Ebook Central
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP login details >
Search for the following book titles:
- Information Technology Law in Australia (search withing book for hacking)
Click on the title of the book you would like to read >
Click on the Read Online button.
Report: Public exposure and responses to data breaches in Australia
Biddle, N., Gray, M., & McEachern, S. (2022). Public exposure and responses to data breaches in Australia: October 2022. Australian National University.
Australian Institute of Criminology
Click on the link above >
Search for the following publications:
- Responding to cybercrime
- Identity crime and misuse in Australia 2023
Articles on Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- A review of data governance regulation, practices and cyber security strategies for businesses: An Australian perspective
- Attributes impacting cybersecurity policy development: An evidence from seven nations
- Louder bark with no bite: Privacy protection through the regulation of mandatory data breach notification in Australia
- Enhancing relationships between criminology and cybersecurity
- Identifying risk factors associated with adolescent cyber-deviance in Australia: Implications for policy and practice
- Cyber Law and Cyber Security Policies in Pakistan: A Comparative Study with USA, Canada and Australia
- Online Safety Laws by Country
- Pirates of the cyber seas: Are state-sponsored hackers modern-day privateers?
- Louder bark with no bite: Privacy protection through the regulation of mandatory data breach notification in Australia
- Dude, where's my data?: The effectiveness of laws governing data breaches in Australia
- A review of data governance regulaation, practices and cyber security strategies for businesses:An Australian perspective
- How to Minimize Hacking: Understanding the Motives of Hackers to Plan a Counter Attack and Prevention Techniques
- Ethical Hacking and Network Security to Prevent Network Cyber Attacks
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.
Website: Hacking
Australian Signals Directorate. (2020, May 21). Hacking.

Books on the Library Catalogue
Click on the link above >
Select books in the material type >
Search for the following book:
Cybercrime and society (4th ed - see 9.4; search within book for phishing)
Click on available online >
Click on miscellaneous ebooks >
Log in using your ACAP student portal login details.
Books from Ebook Central
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP login details >
Search for the following book titles:
- Cybercrime and Digital Forensics : An Introduction (search within book for phishing)
- The Palgrave Handbook of Australian and New Zealand Criminology, Crime and Justice (ch. 15)
Click on the title of the book you would like to read >
Click on the Read Online button.
Elsevier/Science Direct
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP Student portal log in details >
Try the following keyword searches:
phishing Australia
phishing digital forensics
Note: the item is available in full text if you see a small PDF graphic under the record. If this is missing, you will need to search for the article using the library catalogue. If not there, try Google Scholar. If you can't find it - request the item using our document delivery service.
The article called Why is phishing still successful is available from Google Scholar.
Keyword Searching on Taylor & Francis
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal log in details >
Try the following keyword searches:
phishing legislation Australia
phishing Australia
phishing police Australia
Some results will appear but click on the 'Only show content I have full access to' (on the left hand side of the screen) and wait for the results to reload (a few seconds). You will be able to open any articles with a green ticked section or yellow padlocked section in the lower right hand corner of each record.
Keyword Searching on AustLII
Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword search:
phishing
Keyword Searching on the AIC Website
Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword search:
phishing
Search for the following publication:
- Online fraud victimisation in Australia
Website: What are phishing attacks and how to protect against them
Office of the Victorian Information Commissioner. (n.d.). What are phishing attacks and how to protect against them. https://ovic.vic.gov.au/privacy/for-agencies/what-are-phishing-attacks-and-how-to-protect-against-them/
Report: ACSC Annual Cyber Threat Report July 2019 to June 2020
Australian Cyber Security Crime Centre. (n.d.). ACSC Annual Cyber Threat Report July 2019 to June 2020. https://www.cyber.gov.au/sites/default/files/2020-09/ACSC-Annual-Cyber-Threat-Report-2019-20.pd
Note: contains statistics
Report: Scams cost Australians over $630 million
Australian Competition and Consumer Commission. (2020, June 22). Scams cost Australians over $630 million.
Report: Impact of new and emerging information and communications technology
Joint Committee on Law Enforcement. (2019, April 4). Impact of new and emerging information and communications technology. Parliament of Australia
Articles on Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following article titles:
- Identifying phishing attacks in communication networks using URL consistency features
- Why is phishing still successful?
- Introduction of concurrent processes into the digital forensic investigation process
- Applying clustering and ensemble clustering approaches to phishing profiling
- A review of application challenges of digital forensics
- Review of E-mail System, Security Protocols and Email Forensics
- Cybercrime investigators are users too! Understanding the socio-technical challenges faced by law enforcement
- Digital Forensics in the Age of Big Data: Challenges, Approaches, and Opportunities
- Avoiding the Phishing Bait: The Need for Conventional Countermeasures for Mobile Users
- Phishing the long line: transnational cybercrime from Eastern Europe to Australia
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.
Website: Personal fraud
Australian Bureau of Statistics. (2022, March 23). Personal fraud.

Books on the Library Catalogue
Click on the link above >
Select books in the material type >
Search for the following book:
Cybercrime and society (4th ed - see ch.14)
Click on available online >
Click on miscellaneous ebooks >
Log in using your ACAP student portal login details.
Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue - articles: example 1
Here are the details for the search linked above:
ACAP Library Advanced Search Page >
Select articles in the material type box >
Box 1 (contains) : cyberbullying
Box 2 (contains) : Australia
After the results load, change the date range on the left to 2014-2024 and apply the change. Select peer reviewed articles (under availability on the left) and apply the change.
Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue - articles: example 2
Here are the details for the search linked above:
ACAP Library Advanced Search Page >
Select articles in the material type box >
Box 1 (contains) : cyberbullying prevention
Box 2 (contains) : Australia
After the results load, change the date range on the left to 2014-2024 and apply the change. Select peer reviewed articles (under availability on the left) and apply the change.
Articles Available from the Library Catalogue
Click on the link above >
Select articles in the material type box >
Search for the following article titles:
- Should Australia have a law against cyberbullying
- What influences Australian secondary schools in their efforts to prevent and intervene in cyberbullying
- Longitudinal impact of the Cyber Friendly Schools program on adolescents' cyberbullying behavior
- The education and the legal system: inter-systemic collaborations identified by Australian schools to more effectively reduce cyberbullying
Keyword Searching on AustLII
Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword search:
cyberbullying
Website: Cyberbullying
Published by the Ausrralian eSafety Commissioner.
Website: Cyberbullying in Australia: Statistics & Resources
Published by Edith Cowan University.
Articles on Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- Research on youth exposure to, and management of, cyberbullying incidents in Australia: synthesis report
- Regulating cyberbullying: a South Australian perspective
- University students' intentions to report cyberbullying
- The tangled web: consequences of workplace cyberbullying in adult male and female employees
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

Ebook Central
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP login details >
Search for the following book titles:
General Books
- Cybercrime and Digital Forensics : An Introduction (ch. 8)
- Understanding and Preventing Online Sexual Exploitation of Children
- Internet Child Pornography : Causes, Investigation, and Prevention
- Child Pornography : Crime, Computers and Society
Australian Books
- Principles of Criminal Law (from p. 748)
- Australian Policing : Critical Issues in 21st Century Police Practice (see from p. 341 - use the page intro box (upper right), type 341 and hit the enter key)
Keyword Searching on Science Direct
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP Student portal log in details >
Try the following keyword searches:
"online child exploitation" Australia
Note: the item is available in full text if you see a small PDF graphic under the record. If this is missing, you will need to search for the article using the library catalogue. If not there, try Google Scholar. If you can't find it - request the item using our document delivery service.
Search for the following article on ScienceDirect:
- Assessing the challenges affecting the investigative methods to combat online child exploitation material offenses
- Online child exploitation: Challenges and future research directions
Keyword Searching on Taylor & Francis
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal log in details >
Try the following keyword searches:
"online child abuse" Australia
"online child pornography" Australia
Some results will appear but click on the 'Only show content I have full access to' (on the left hand side of the screen) and wait for the results to reload (a few seconds). You will be able to open any articles with a green ticked section or yellow padlocked section in the lower right hand corner of each record.
Keyword Searching on the AIC Website
Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword search:
online child exploitation
"online child"
sex offenders
"online child sexual exploitation offenders"
Keyword Searching on SAGE
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal Login details >
Ensure the ' Only content to which I have full access' button is selected >
Try the following keyword searches:
online child pornography AND Australia
online child exploitation AND Australia
Search for the following article on SAGE:
- Why internet users’ perceptions of viewing child exploitation material matter for prevention policies
Google scholar
Click on the link above and search for the following:
"online child sexual exploitation offenders" + Australia
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.
Report: Behind the Screen: Online Child Exploitation in Australia
Anti-Slavery Australia. (2017). Behind the screen: Online child exploitation in Australia.
Website: Australian Centre to Counter Child Exploitation (ACCCE)
Click on the Research link to access the latest research.
Click on the About link to access Information about ACCCE's strategic framework (contains a graph on the number of reports received by the AFP 2013–2018)
Website: Child Exploitation
Commonwealth Department of Public Prosecutions. (n.d.). Child exploitation.
Article: Criminal justice responses to child sexual abuse material offending: A systematic review and evidence and gap map
L. Hine, K. Walsh, M. Sydes, J. McEwan, G. Hassall, S. Roetman, R. Wallis,& J. Williams. (2021). Criminal justice responses to child sexual abuse material offending: A systematic review and evidence and gap map (Trends & Issues in Crime and Criminal Justice, no. 623). Australian Institute of Criminology.
Website: National Strategy to Prevent and Respond to Child Sexual Abuse
Published by the National Office for Child Safety Australia.

Books from Ebook Central
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP login details >
Search for the following book titles:
- Cybercrime and Digital Forensics : An Introduction (ch. 10)
- Cyberterrorism (by Grove)
- Cyberterrorism: understanding assessment and response
- The Palgrave Handbook of Australian and New Zealand Criminology, Crime and Justice (ch. 15)
Click on the title of the book you would like to read >
Click on the Read Online button.
Keyword Searching on EBSCO
EBSCO contains academic journal articles and some Ebooks.
To access this database, click on the link above >and log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Click on the yellow continue button >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword search:
cyberterrorism AND Australia
"cyber terrorism" AND Australia
"cyber terrorism" AND policing
Keyword Searching on Taylor & Francis
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal log in details >
Try the following keyword searches:
"online child abuse" Australia
"cyber terrorism"
"cyber terrorism" policing
"cyber terrorism" Australia
Some results will appear but click on the 'Only show content I have full access to' (on the left hand side of the screen) and wait for the results to reload (a few seconds). You will be able to open any articles with a green ticked section or yellow padlocked section in the lower right hand corner of each record.
Search for the following article titles on T& F:
- Organising cyber security in Australia and beyond
- The challenges facing specialist police cyber-crime units: an empirical analysis
- The Cyberterrorism Threat: Findings from a Survey of Researchers
Keyword Searching on AustLII
Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword search:
cyberterrorism
"cyber terrorism"
Search for the following article on Austlii:
- "Protecting Australian Cyberspace" (full title includes - Are our International Lawyers Ready?)
Keyword Searching on Proquest
Proquest contains academic journal articles and Ebooks.
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Try the following keyword search:
"cyber terrorism" AND forensic*
"cyber terrorism" AND policing
"cyber terrorism" AND Australia
Articles on Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following article titles:
- A Strategic Vision for Combating Cyberterrorism
- Protecting Australia against Cyberterrorism
- Safeguarding Australia from cyber-terrorism
- Cyberterrorism: addressing the challenges for establishing an international legal framework
- 18th Australian Cyber Warfare Conference 2019 (CWAR 2019), October 7-8, 2019, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
- The future of technology-enabled crime in Australia.
- The Strategies of Cyberterrorism: Is Cyberterrorism an effective means to Achieving the Goals of Terrorists?
- Policing Cyber Terrorism
- Discovering Cyber Terrorism Using Trace Pattern
- Protecting Australia against Cyberterrorism
- The good, the bad and the missing: A Narrative review of cyber-security implications for Australian small businesses
- Protection of Australia in the cyber age
- Analysis of the Australian Government's Security Strategy in Countering the Potential Threat of Terrorism Groups Through Cyber Terrorism Instruments
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.
News: Cyberterrorists targeting healthcare systems, critical infrastructure
Oriti, T. (2017, October 23). Cyberterrorists targeting healthcare systems, critical infrastructure. ABC News.
Website: Australian Signals Directorate
Search for cybersecurity.

Report: Hackers, fraudsters and botnets: Tackling the problem of cyber crime
House Standing Committee on Communications. (2010). Hackers, fraudsters and botnets: Tackling the problem of cyber crime. Parliament of Australia.
2023-2030 Australian cyber security strategy
Department of Home Affairs. (2023). 2023-2030 Australian cyber security strategy. Australian Government.
Report: Cybersecurity
Legislative Council. (2021, March). Cybersecurity. Parliament of New South Wales.
Report: Cybercrime in Australia 2023
Vice, I., & Morgan, A. (2023). Cybercrime in Australia 2023 (Statistical report no. 43). Australian Institute of Criminology.
Australian Signals Directorate: Reports and Statistics
Ausralian Signals Directorate & Australian Cyber Security Centre
Cyber security incidents double between 2019-20 and 2021-22
Australian Bureau of Statistics. (2023, June 22.). Cyber security incidents double between 2019-20 and 2021-22.