JALE1054 Crime and the Media

The following search is linked above.
Go to the advanced search page
Select articles in the material type box
Change contains to 'contains exact phrase' to the left of the search box and type: news media
Leave contains to the left of the second search box and type: responsibility
Leave contains to the left of the third search box and type: objective OR objectivity OR accurate
Hit the enter key or click on the search button

You could also try this search:
Box 1: (contains exact phrase) news values
Box 2: (contains) objective OR objectivity OR accurate
Box 3: (contains) Australia

Click on the link above >
Login using your ACAP login details >
Click on continue when the choose databases screen loads >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword search:
news reporting AND objectiv*
Search for the following article on EBSCO:
- What do the Papers Sell? A Model of Advertising and Media Bias.

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Try the following keyword searches:
"news values" objectivity
"news reporting" objectivity newsworthiness
"news corporation" bias
Some results will appear but click on the 'Only show content I have full access to' (on the left hand side of the screen) and wait for the results to reload (a few seconds). You will be able to open any articles with a green ticked section or yellow padlocked section in the lower right hand corner of each record.

Click on the link above and login using your ACAP login details.
Ensure the full-text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked.
Try the following keyword searches:
news media objectivity
"news reporting" AND profit* AND bias

Click on the link above >
Log in using your student portal details >
Search for the following article:
- Persistent media bias

Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- Can the media be so liberal? The economics of media bias
- The Commercialization of News (The whole book downloads - you want ch.16)
- Markets, Ownership, and the Quality of Campaign News Coverage
- Examining the accuracy of print media representations of homicide in Australia
- The scary world syndrome: News orientations, negativity bias, and the cultivation of anxiety
- Does the ideology of the newsroom affect the provision of media slant?
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- Profit-Maximizing Media Bias
Note: SSRN may ask you to sign up (for free) to access some articles.

Senate Standing Committee on Environment and Communications. (2021, December). Media diversity in Australia: Report. Parliament of Australia.

Park, S., Fisher, C., McGuinness, K., Lee, J., Fujita, M., Haw, A., McCallum, K. & Nardi, G. (2025). Digital News Report: Australia 2025. News and Media Research Centre, University of Canberra.

The link above leads to the search below.
Go to the library home page >
Click on advanced search:
Box 1 (contains exact phrase): social media
Box 2: adolescents
After the results load, change the date range to 2010-2025.

The link above leads to the following search:
Go to the library home page >
Click on advanced search >
Enter the following keywords:
Box 1 (contains exact phrase): social media
Box 2 (contains): adolescents
Box 3 (contains): benefits
After the results load, change the date range to 2010-2025

The link above leads to the following search:
Go to the library home page >
Click on advanced search >
Enter the following keywords:
Box 1 (contains exact phrase): social media
Box 2 (contains): adolescent wellbeing
After the results load, change the date range to 2010-2025

eSafety Commissioner. (2025, September 16). Social media age restrictions. Australian Government.
NOTE: This page changes frequently. Check the "last updated" information at the bottom of the page before citing.

Try searching for terms related to the social media age ban for up-to-date information. You can also perform a search in the normal google page.

Click on the link above
Search for the following:
- Will restricting the age of access to social media reduce mental illness in Australian youth?
- Potential effects of the social media age ban in Australia for children younger than 16 years (select all 3 versions and click on the [PDF] sciencedirect link]
- Recent policy recommendations won't protect young people from alcohol-related content on social media: what needs to change