JALE2024 Drugs & Crime

Here are the instructions for the search:
Go to the library website >
Click on advanced search >
Select articles in the material type box:
Box 1 (contains exact phrase): supervised injecting rooms
Box 2 (contains): effectiveness
After the results load, change the date range to: 2010-2025

Here are the instructions for the search:
Go to the library website >
Click on advanced search >
Select articles in the material type box:
Box 1 (contains exact phrase): supervised injecting rooms
Box 2 (contains): North Richmond
After the results load, change the date range to: 2011-2025

Department of Health. (2023) Review of the medically supervised Injecting room 2023. Victoria State Government.

Click on the link above >
Search for the following:
- The Melbourne safe injecting room attracted people most in need of its service
- Drug policy in Australia: The supervised injecting facilities debate
- Supervised injection services: what has been demonstrated? A systematic literature review
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

Here are the instructions for the search:
Go to the library website >
Click on advanced search >
Select articles in the material type box:
Box 1 (contains exact phrase): prison needle exchange
Box 2 (contains): effectiveness
After the results load, change the date range to: 2010-2025

Click om the link above >
Search for prisoner health.
These articles/reports may not dicuss needle exchanges directly but they will contain other supporting information for this population e.g. HIV/hepatitis in prison

Click on the link above >
Search for the following:
- Health outcomes for clients of needle and syringe programs in prisons
- The prison economy of needles and syringes: what opportunities exist for blood borne virus risk reduction when prices are so high
- Needle and syringe programs in prisons: Does it really matter?
- A policy analysis exploring hepatitis C risk, prevention, testing, treatment and reinfection within Australia's prisons
- Insights on prison needle and syringe programs:
research with former prisoners in Canada
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

Joint Committee on Law Enforcement. (2024, May). Australia’s illicit drug problem: Challenges and opportunities for law enforcement. Parliament of Australia.
Note: Great overview in ch.2 which explains which drugs are imported and which are manufactured in Australia.

Click on the link above and search for drug household survey.
This will provide statistics on the use of certain drugs.

Here are the instructions for the search:
Go to the library website >
Click on advanced search >
Select articles in the material type box:
Box 1 (contains exact phrase): harm minimisation
Box 2 (contains exact phrase): drug policy
Box 3 (contains): Australia
After the results load, change the date range to: 2010-2025

Here are the instructions for the search:
Go to the library website >
Click on advanced search >
Select articles in the material type box:
Box 1 (contains): prohibition
Box 2 (contains exact phrase): drug policy
Box 3 (contains): Australia
After the results load, change the date range to: 2010-2025
These articles may provide a counter view to harm minimisation.

Joint Committee on Law Enforcement. (2024, May). Australia’s illicit drug problem: Challenges and opportunities for law enforcement. Parliament of Australia.

Published by the Australian National University.

Published by Theresa McKeown & Associates (Canada).

Published by the Imperial College London.