Skip to Main Content

ACAP

Student Portal Schedule Appointments Room Bookings Contact Us

Search and Discover

ACAP LEARNING RESOURCES

Find

Find

Borrow

Borrow

Learn

Learn

My MultiSearch Login Advanced Search Google Scholar PubMed A-Z Journals A-Z Databases

JALE2024 Drugs & Crime

Drugs & Crime

Harm Minimisation 2024, T2

Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue (articles - example 1)
The following search is linked above:
ACAP Library advanced search page
Box 1 (contains exact phrase): harm minimisation
Box 2 (leave contains): prohibition
Add + to add another box
Box 3 (leave contains): drugs
Add + to add another box
Box 4 (leave contains): Australia
Hit the enter key.
You can select peer reviewed (options on the left) if you wish.
Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue (articles - example 2)
The following search is linked above:
ACAP Library advanced search page
Box 1 (contains exact phrase): punitive approaches
Box 2 (leave contains): drugs
Add + to add another box
Box 3 (leave contains): Australia
Hit the enter key.
You can select peer reviewed (options on the left) if you wish.
Keyword Searching on the Library Catalogue (articles - example 3)
The following search is linked above:
ACAP Library advanced search page
Box 1 (contains exact phrase): pill testing
Box 2 (contains exact phrase): harm minimisation
Hit the enter key.
After the results load, change the date range on the left to 2014-2023
You can select peer reviewed (options on the left) if you wish.

Ebook Central
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal log in details >
Search for the following book:
- Drug Use in Australian Society (2nd ed) (ch. 4,8,11,13, also, search within book for "harm minimisation").

Keyword Searching on EBSCO
Click on the link above >
Login using your ACAP login details >
Click on continue when the choose databases screen loads >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches:
illicit drugs AND zero tolerance policy AND Australia
drug policy AND harm minimisation AND Australia
drug policy AND Australia
drug use AND punitive AND Australia

Keyword Searching on Taylor & Francis
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal details.
Try the following searches:
"drug use" "zero tolerance" "harm minimisation"
"drug use" punitive "harm minimisation" Australia
When the results load click on the 'Only show content I have full access to' (on the left hand side of the screen) and wait for the page to refresh.

Keyword Searching on AustLII
Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword search:
"harm minimisation" AND prohibition AND criminalisation

Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following article titles:
- Changes in and correlates of Australian public attitudes toward illicit drug use
- Imaginary drug control and the failures of contemporary Australian drug policy
- 'Worth the test?' Pragmatism, pill testing and drug policy in Australia
- 30 Years of Harm Minimisation–How Far Have We Come?
- All opinions are not equal: Toward a consensual approach to the development of drug policy
- Australia's First Official Illicit Pill Testing at Canberra's Groovin'The Moo Music Festival
- Pill testing trial in the ACT: Evaluation
- Bitter pill: Testing times for party drugs
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

Cannabis in the ACT: what you need to know
Australian Drug Foundation. (2020, January 20). Cannabis in the ACT: What you need to know.