JALE3904 Youth Justice

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal log in details >
Search for the following book titles:
- Juvenile justice: youth and crime in Australia (note - 6 users at once so if the book is locked, try later)
- Australian Policing: Critical Issues in 21st Century Police Practice (see ch. 23)
- Australia's children's courts today and tomorrow (search within book for the word police)
Click on the (linked) title of the book you would like to read >
Click on the Read Online button.

Click on the link above >
Login using your ACAP login details >
Click on continue when the choose databases screen loads >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches:
youth AND police AND Australia
youth AND "crime prevention" AND Australia

Click on the link above >
Search for the following article titles:
- Three dogmas of juvenile justice
- Beyond the Three dogmas of juvenile justice

Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP Student Portal login details >
Try the following keyword search:
police youth "crime prevention" Australia
After the results have loaded, click on the 'Only show content I have full access to' box on the left and wait for the results to reload.

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal Login details >
Ensure the 'Only content to which I have full access' button is selected >
Try the following keyword search:
policing youth AND Australia
youth crime AND police

Click on the link above >
Search for the following publications:
- Crime prevention programs for culturally and linguistically diverse communities in Australia
- Targeting crime prevention to reduce offending: Identifying communities that generate chronic and costly offenders
- Preventing the onset of youth offending

Putt J (Ed.). (2011). Community policing in Australia (Research and Public Policy Series no. 111). Australian Institute of Criminology.
Note: see from p. 54

Click on the link above >
Search for the following publications:
- Crime prevention and young people: Models and future direction for youth night patrols
- Local Crime Prevention: 'Breathing Life (Back) into Social Democratic and Penal Welfare Concerns'
- Reducing the methamphetamine problem in Australia: Evaluating innovative partnerships between police, pharmacies and other third parties
- Pacific youth offending within an Australian context
- Implementing crime prevention: Good governance and a science of implementation
- Are Police-Led Social Crime Prevention Initiatives Effective (article from the UK which may provide some discussion points)
- Some findings from an Australian local crime prevention case study
- Raising the minimum age of criminal responsibility to 14 years
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

Victoria. Parliament. Drugs and Crime Prevention Committee 2010, Inquiry into strategies to reduce assaults in public places in Victoria, Victorian Government Printer, Melbourne.
Do a ctrl f/find in page for the following words: youth, police

Victoria. Parliament. Drugs and Crime Prevention Committee 2012, Inquiry into locally based approaches to community safety and crime prevention, Victorian Government Printer, Melbourne.
Do a ctrl f/find in page command for the following words: youth, police

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP login details >
Click on continue when the choose databases screen loads >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches:
youth AND sentencing AND Australia
children's court AND Australia

Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword searches:
"children's court"
Search for the following articles on AustLII:
- Juvenile justice, young people and human rights in Australia

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal Login details >
Ensure the 'Only content to which I have full access' button is selected >
Try the following keyword search:
sentencing youth AND Australia
children's court AND Australia

Search for the following articles on SAGE:
- Themes in sentencing young adults charged with serious violent crime involving alcohol and other drugs
- Whither Australia's Children's Courts

Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword search:
- young offenders

Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP Student Portal login details >
Search for the following article:
- An assessment of the status of and challenges facing the child welfare jurisdiction in Victoria (part of the title)

Click on the link above >
Search for the following article:
- 'Naming and Shaming' in Western Australia

Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- Magistrates' perspectives on the Criminal Division of the Children's Court of Victoria
- Indigenous young people and the NSW children's court: Magistrates' perceptions of the court's criminal jurisdiction
- Aboriginal young people in the children's court of Western Australia
- Youth sex offending, recidivism and restorative justice: Comparing court and conference cases
- Give them a chance: public attitudes to sentencing young offenders in Western Australia
- Public preferences for sentencing purposes: What difference does offender age, criminal history and offence type make
- Sentencing children and young people in Victoria
- What responsibility do courts have to hear children's voices
- Raising the minimum age of criminal responsibility to 14 years
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

NSW Judicial Commission c2020, Equality before the Law Bench Book: Children and young people, Judicial Commission, Sydney.

Supreme Court of Western Australia 2009, Equal Justice Bench Book : Children and Young People, Supreme Court, Perth.

Australian Law Reform Commission 1997, Seen and heard: priority for children in the legal process, ALRC, Sydney.
Note: this is a little old but you may get some points from it.

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal log in details >
Search for the following book titles:
- Juvenile justice: youth and crime in Australia (note - 6 users at once so if the book is locked, try later)
Click on the (linked) title of the book you would like to read >
Click on the Read Online button.

Click on the link above >
Login using your ACAP login details >
Click on continue when the choose databases screen loads >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches:
Box 1: juvenile detention or juvenile corrections
Box 2: Australia

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal Login details >
Ensure the ' Only content to which I have full access' button is selected >
Try the following keyword search:
"juvenile detention" AND Australia

Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword search:
"juvenile detention"

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Try the following keyword searches:
"juvenile detention" Australia
After doing a search, tick the 'Only show content I have full access to' on the left and wait for the full-text results to reload.

Click on the link above >
Try the following search:
juvenile detention
Search for the following publications on the AIC website:
- Measuring juvenile recidivism in Australia

Published by the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare

Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- Raising the minimum age of criminal responsibility to 14 years
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal log in details >
Search for the following book titles:
- Juvenile justice: youth and crime in Australia (note - 6 users at once so if the book is locked, try later)
- Australia's children's courts today and tomorrow (search within book for "restorative justice")
Try the following keyword search on Ebook Central:
"restorative justice" youth
Click on the (linked) title of the book you would like to read >
Click on the Read Online button.

Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Click on the yellow continue button >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword search:
"restorative justice" AND youth AND Australia

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal Login details >
Ensure the 'Only content to which I have full access' button is selected >
Try the following keyword search:
restorative justice AND Australia

Click on the link above >
Select "newest first" in the sort by box >
Try the following keyword search:
"restorative justice"

Click on the link above >
Search for the following article titles:
- Three dogmas of juvenile justice
- Beyond the Three dogmas of juvenile justice
Try the following keyword search on AustLII:
"restorative justice"

Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- The Effectiveness of Reintegrative Shaming and Restorative Justice Conferences
- Youth sex offending, recidivism and restorative justice: Comparing court and conference cases
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.