CRIM2044 Innovative justice

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP Student Portal log in details >
Look for the book titles listed below:
- Handbook on prisons (2016, see Part 1 > ch. 3 aims of imprisonment. Even though it discusses the UK, our system is similar)
After you have opened a title, click on the Read Online button.

Click on the link above >
Login using your ACAP Student Portal login details >
Click on continue when the choose databases screen loads >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword search:
does prison work

Search for the following article on EBSCO:
- Is corrections correcting

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Try the following keyword search:
prison rehabilitation Australia
When the results load click on the 'Only show content I have full access to' (on the left hand side of the screen) and wait for the page to refresh.

Click on the link above >
Try the following search:
How much does prison really cost

Here is a description of the search linked above
ACAP Library Advanced Search Page
Select articles in the material type box
Box 1: (contains) publicity
Box 2: (contains) jury trial
Box 3: (contains) Australia
After the results load, change the date range on the left to 2009-2024 and apply the change.
Select peer reviewed (options on the left) and apply the change.

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP Student Portal log in details >
Search for the following book:
"juries in the 21st century" (see chapters 1, 6 and any other section of interest).
After you have opened a title, click on the Read Online button.

Click on the link above >
Login using your ACAP Student Portal login details >
Click on continue when the choose databases screen loads >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches:

Box 1: jury
Box 2: pretrial publicity

Box 1: jury
Box 2: news media

Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- Right to a fair trial: could hard news reports influence jurors
- The effects of general pretrial publicity on juror decisions
- Open justice,'back-to-back'trials and juror prejudice
- The media's impact on the right to a fair trial: A content analysis of pretrial publicity in capital cases
- Juries and Social Media
- Jurors using social media in our courts: Challenges and responses
- The courts and social media: what do judges and court workers think
- Social media, the internet, and trial by jury
- Preventing juror misconduct in a digital world
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

The link above is linked to the following search:
From the advanced search page
Select articles in the material type box >
On the left of the first search line, change contains to is exact and type therapeutic jurisprudence on the blank line.
Leave contains to the left of the second line and type Australia on the blank line
Hit the enter key.
After the results load, change the date range to 2009-2024 and apply the change. Scroll down the tick the peer reviewed box on the left and apply the change

The link above is linked to the following search:
From the advanced search page
Select Books in the material type box >
On the left of the first search line, change contains to is exact and type therapeutic jurisprudence on the blank line.
Leave contains to the left of the second line and type Wexler on the blank line
Hit the enter key.

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Try the following search:
"therapeutic jurisprudence" Australia
When the results load click on the 'Only show content I have full access to' (on the left hand side of the screen) and wait for the page to refresh.

Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword searches:
"therapeutic jurisprudence"

The link above is linked to the following search:
From the advanced search page
Select articles in the material type box >
On the left of the first search line, change contains to is exact and type restorative justice on the blank line.
Leave contains to the left of the second line and type Australia on the blank line
Hit the enter key.
After the results load, change the date range to 2014-4and apply the change. Scroll down the tick the peer reviewed box on the left and apply the change

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP Student Portal log in details >
Try the following keyword search:
"justice reinvestment"
After you have opened a title, click on the Read Online button.

Click on the link above >
Try the following search:
"justice reinvestment"

Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword searches:
"restorative justice"

The link above is linked to the following search:
From the advanced search page
Select articles in the material type box >
On the left of the first search line, change contains to is exact and type justice reinvestment on the blank line.
Leave contains to the left of the second line and type Australia on the blank line
Hit the enter key.
After the results load, change the date range to 2013-2024 and apply the change. Scroll down the tick the peer reviewed box on the left and apply the change

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP Student Portal log in details >
Try the following keyword search:
"justice reinvestment"
After you have opened a title, click on the Read Online button.

Click on the link above >
Try the following search:
"justice reinvestment"

Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword searches:
"justice reinvestment"

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP Student Portal log in details >
Search for the following book:
- Following the Proceeds of Environmental Crime: Fish, Forests and Filthy Lucre (see ch. 3 and any other chapter which may be relevant. Click on iii lying on the side to reset the table of contents if you need to).
Try the following keyword searches:
"environmental crime" Australia
"green criminology"
After you have opened a title, click on the Read Online button.

Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword searches:
"environmental damage"
"environmental damage" AND crim*

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Try the following keyword searches:
"economic development" "environmental crime" Australia
"environmental damage" crime
When the results load click on the 'Only show content I have full access to' (on the left hand side of the screen) and wait for the page to refresh.

Click on the link above >
Try the following search:
- environmental crime

Click on the link above >
Log in using your student portal details >
Ensure the full-text and scholarly boxes are ticked >
Search for the following article:
- Sustainable economic development: A criminal justice challenge for the 21st century

Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- The criminogenic effects of environmental harm: Bringing a 'green'perspective to mainstream criminology
- Green criminology: Shining a critical lens on environmental harm
- Green Criminology and Environmental Crime
- Challenges in regulating environmental crimes (Whole publication loads. See chapter from page 213 (registers as 223/556 in the little box above the screen) and any other chapter which may be relevant)
- International environmental crime + Dini
- Green criminology environmental crime prevention and the gaps between law, legitimacy and justice
- Strengthening Policies for Economic and Ecological Sustainability through the Enforcement of Environmental Crimes in Third World
- 'Limits to growth'and 'sustainable development': grappling with ecological realities
- Economic growth and environmental impacts
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.