Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Student Portal Schedule Appointments Room Bookings Library Events Contact Us
Search and Discover

ACAP LIBRARY

Find

Find

Borrow

Borrow

Learn

Learn

My Library Login Advanced Search Google Scholar PubMed A-Z Journals A-Z Databases

Information Skills

Videos and online tutorials to support and develop information skills.

Sign in & Save in MultiSearch

Sign in to My Library or create accounts in the library's online databases to manage your search results.  Features include:

  • Saving individual items to your My Library account or personalised folders
  • Saving entire searches 
  • Sending bibliographic data to referencing management tools such as Mendeley (RIS)
  • Saving and sharing permalinks.

This tutorial will guide you through the process of using MutiSearch and the Library's online databases to organise your search results.

Save & Organise in MultiSearch

Manage research from within MultiSearch by saving entire searches or individual resources. 

Sign in to My Library

  • Sign in to My Library from the library homepage to access the My Favourites page. 
  • Or sign in from the MultiSearch search screen to save results and searches. Scroll across the page and click the My Library link from the top right-hand corner.

Saving Items and Searches

  • Once signed in, save individual items by clicking the Pin icons next to the titles of items in your list. The icon will move to the My Favourites icon in the menu.
  • Add whole pages of results or save the search by clicking the Save Search icon just above the results list. When saving the search, choose to receive alerts, which will update you as new resources become available.
  • View saved items by clicking the My Favourites icon or Saved Items link from the MultiSearch menu. Here, view and edit lists, add labels and see saved searches.

Use MultiSearch to send bibliographic data to referencing management tools such as EndNote or Mendeley. Use permalinks to share your research with others.

Sharing Data

In MultiSearch, send data to online referencing management tools such as EndNote or Mendeley:

  • Begin by conducting a search. To send data from an item on your list, scroll across the screen and open the item’s menu by clicking the three dots.
  • Use this menu to send bibliographic data to EndNote/Mendeley or other referencing software by exporting the RIS file.
  • Learn more about using Mendeley from the Library Referencing page.‚Äč

Bookmarking and Sharing

Also from this menu, use the item’s Permalink to save or bookmark the resources.

The Permalink is also the best way to share results via email, Facebook or Twitter. To use the Permalink, simply copy and paste it into your preferred service.

Save & Organise in Library Databases

eBook Bookshelves

Open Ebook Central from the library homepage or A-Z Databases and scroll down to see a shelf of recently viewed books. To save books to permanent collections on this platform:

  • Sign in to Ebook Central using your student number and password.
  • Search for books about a relevant topic.
  • Find the Add to Bookshelf icon next to each ebook in your results list. Click this icon to add ebooks to an existing folder or create a new one.
  • Click the Bookshelf link in the page menu to view folders.

Bookmarking and Sharing

Now conduct a new search and click on the title of a book in the list to open the detailed record view.

  • To send this book's bibliographic data to Mendeley (RIS) or other referencing software, click the Cite Book icon.
  • Choose your referencing style (APA or Harvard) and choose the appropriate export citation button (EndNote/Citavi). If using Mendeley you may need to add the file manually by using the ADD function from the Mendeley program. 
  • On the same page, click the Share Link to Book icon in order to copy and paste the Permalink for this item. This is the best way to share your results via email, Facebook or Twitter.

Saving to Folders

When using any of the Journal Databases found on the library homepage or in A-Z Databases, create an account for that database. Click here to view an example using Ebsco Databases:

  • Sign in to Ebsco databases using your student number and password and click the Continue button.
  • Click the Sign In link at the top of the page and create a new account.
  • Now when you return to this database, make sure you are signed in and simply add items to your folders by clicking the folder icon next to the title of the article you want to save. You can do the same for each of the library's journal databases.

Bookmarking and Sharing

Conduct a new search in Ebsco Databases from the window below.

  • Open the detailed page of any article in your results list by clicking a Title link.
  • To send bibliographic data to Mendeley (RIS) and other reference management services, click the Export link from an article’s details page and choose Direct Export in RIS Format. 
  • Here, you can also copy the Permalink and use it on your bookmarking service or share via email, Facebook and Twitter.

How to Save and Organise Search Results
This video demonstrates the process of saving and organising search results in MultiSearch, eBook and journal databases.