Skip to Main Content
ACAP Student Portal Schedule Appointments Room Bookings Contact Us
Search and Discover

ACAP LEARNING RESOURCES

Find

Find

Borrow

Borrow

Learn

Learn

My MultiSearch Login Advanced Search Google Scholar PubMed A-Z Journals A-Z Databases

How to Find eResources

Learn about finding library eresources.

Find eBooks

ACAP Library provides access to over 50,000 ebooks.

  • Library ebooks are available from a variety of different platforms e.g. Proquest Ebook Central, Springer, or Cambridge. 
  • Some ebooks have limited licenses such as three concurrent users only.
  • Some platforms place restrictions on how many pages can be downloaded or printed.  

eBooks can be accessed by:

eBook databases will let you:

  • Print and copy portions
  • Search within text
  • Easily browse content
  • Create personal 'eshelves'.

Some additional advantages of ebooks:

  • Ebooks are available immediately. 
  • Chapters from ebooks can be downloaded in PDF and read aloud with a screen reader.
  • Unlike print books, ebooks can never be overdue and you do not get fined for late returns.

How to Find eBooks?

Watch a librarian search for ebooks using MultiSearch and eBook Central or print the instructions.

How to use ebooks

Ebook functionality varies between databases or platforms. As well as full-text searching and reading online, most platforms offer the ability to download some or all of the book to a variety of mobile devices. Some also offer features such as text highlighting or annotating.

Database Tips

  • The most efficient way to find ebooks is to use MultiSearch, limiting your search to items available online. 
  • Alternatively, you can access APA PsycBooks, through the EBSCOhost platform.
    • You can download separate book chapters as PDFs.
    • Enter your book title or search by topic.
    • Tick BOOKS in the left-hand menu.
    • Download or open the PDF of the chapter you need.
    • If you want to read the whole book, search for the title of the BOOK (not the chapter) and you will get a list of chapters.
Formats available  PDF of separate chapters
Do I need to create an account? No, however you can create an account if you want to.  When you are signed into your EBSCO account your folder items will be saved.
Downloading You can download separate chapters as PDFs.
Accessibility
  • Text-to-speech functionality on HTML full-text articles
  • ARIA landmarks to assist users with screen readers
  • Access keys for keyboard-only navigation

Ebsco Accessibility Statement
  • The most efficient way to find ebooks is to use MulitSearch, limiting your search to items available online. 
  • Access Cambridge Core books through the Cambridge Core database.
  • Enter search terms and tick the box ONLY SEARCH CONTENT I HAVE ACCESS TO.
  • Read the book online. 
  • To save the book your bookmarks, or annotate, you need to register.
Formats available  All content is offered in PDF format with some also in HTML.
Do I need to create an account? Only if you wish to save searches and bookmark favourite content. Click 'Register' and complete all the details. If you have already registered, select LOGIN.  Login with your Cambridge Core account and NOT with your institutional details.
 
Downloading Yes. Chapters or entire ebooks can be downloaded to PDF.  The limits vary by book.
Accessibility

Assistive technology users should experience no barriers caused by print or copy restrictions however normal copyright conditions still apply and can be found in Cambridge Core terms of use.

Cambridge Core Accessibility Statement

 

  • The most efficient way to find ebooks is to use MulitSearch, limiting your search to items available online.  
  • Alternatively, access Proquest Ebook Central
  • Select READ ONLINE.
    • Search within book, annotate, bookmark or download a chapter. 
  • Your annotated books will be saved to your BOOKSHELF.
  • Find out more in the Proquest Ebook Central Guide.
Formats available 
All content is offered in PDF format with some also in HTML.
Do I need to create an account? No.
Downloading Yes. Chapters or entire ebooks can be downloaded to PDF.  The limits vary by book.
Accessibility

You can use accessibility mode, in which pages of books are presented as text rather than images, and other functions such as searching for a book or within the book are optimized for screen reader use.

Read the Ebook Central Accessibility Statement or watch this video.

 

  • The most efficient way to find ebooks is to use MulitSearch, limiting your search to items available online.
  • Alternatively, access Psychiatry Online database.
  • Select BOOKS.
  • Select PSYCHOTHERAPY LIBRARY.
  • Browse the collection.
  • You can also SEARCH in the SEARCH FIELD.
  • Under NARROW RESULTS, select PUBLICATION - PSYCHOTHERAPY COLLECTION
  • Select the items that have FULL ACCESS or FREE ACCESS
Formats available  HTML
Do I need to create an account? No
Downloading Chapters or entire ebooks can be downloaded to PDF.  The limits vary depending on the book.
Accessibility

DSM-5 is in HTML only.

No Accessibility statement on the website.
  • The most efficient way to find ebooks is to use MulitSearch, limiting your search to items available online. 
  • After clicking on a title link you may be asked to type your organisation name into a box – enter Australian College of Applied Psychology.
  • Alternatively, access SageCatalyst books through the Sage Catalyst Core (Ebooks) database
  • Enter search terms and select the correct title
  • Click on the section you wish to read
  • You use the tools on the left to:
  • Search within the book; review Table of Contents and change the Settings such as the Font size and preference, or background colour
  • You can select some text in the resource to highlight and/or start making personal notes. Click Create Note to save details.

Formats available 

All content is offered in HTML.

Do I need to create an account?

Once you have logged in to access eResources in Multisearch (using your Student ID and password) there is no need to create a separate account. Your notes etc will be save for next time you access the book. 

Downloading

Yes. Licensing restrictions only allow for you to download one chapter per book, every four months.

Accessibility

SAGE Catalyst has endeavoured to make their eBooks as accessible as possible allowing readers to:

● change colours, contrast levels and fonts

● zoom in up to 400% without the text spilling off the screen

● navigate most of the website using just a keyboard

● navigate most of the website using speech recognition software

● listen to most of the website using a screen reader (including the most recent versions of JAWS, NVDA, and VoiceOver)

Accessibility statement for SAGE Catalyst

  • The most efficient way to find ebooks is to use MulitSearch, limiting your search to items available online.
  • Alternatively, access SpringerLink directly.
  • Enter search terms in the search field
  • Books and articles that are NOT available in our subscriptions have a yellow padlock.
Formats available  PDF and HTML
Do I need to create an account? No
Downloading Download complete book in PDF, EPUB, or download chapters in PDF.
Accessibility

SpringerLink Accessibility Statement