ACAP Learning Resources: JALE3014 Mental Health and Criminal Justice: Presentations

Presentations 2023, T3

Note: A few different aspects of the 'transition to modernity' are presented on this page. Some relate to modern society and mental health. Others relate to the criminal justice system. In respect to the latter, some articles discuss the United Kingdom because, historically, the Australian legal system is based on the British system.

Ebook Central
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP login details >
Search for the following book titles >
- The modern state (see section from p. 29)
- Age of Insanity
- Justice in the Risk Society (search (separately)within book for the words modernity; mentally ill)
- Global Modernization : Rethinking the Project of Modernity (see from page 9 re: discussion about modernity in a general sensse).
- Rethinking Madness: Interdisciplinary and Multicultural Reflections (See chapter called Rewriting the Asylum. It discusses the English context but white Australia mirrored whatever Britain did).
- Routledge International Handbook of Critical Mental Health (see section from the bottom of page 134).
Click on the linked book title to open the book >
Click on the Read Online button.
Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following journal articles:
- Modernity, mental illness and the crisis of meaning
- Deinstitutionalisation; mental health services in the age of neo-liberalism
- Health systems in an era of biophysical limits: the wicked dilemmas of modernity
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.
Keyword Searching on Proquest
Click on the link above >
Login using your ACAP login details >
Ensure the full-text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked.
Try the following keyword searches:
"transition to modernity" AND mental health
Searching on SSRN
Click on the link above >
Search for the following article:
transition to modernity and Whitman (from the Oxford Handbook of Criminal Law)

Keyword Searching on EBSCO
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP login details >
Click on continue when the choose databases screen loads >
Ensure the full text and scholarly boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches >
medicine and medicalization
what is medicalization (once the results load, look for the article called A critique of medicalisation: three instances which should be listed on on p. 2 of the search results)
Ebook Central
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP login details >
Search for the following book titles >
- What Is Mental Illness (By McNally - see ch. 5)
- An Anthropology of Biomedicine (see section from p.60)
Click on the linked book title >
Click on the Read Online button.
Keyword Searching on Proquest
Click on the link above >
Login using your ACAP login details >
Ensure the full-text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked.
Try the following keyword searches:
"Medicalisation in the 21st century"
medicalization n/10 society
more...less...
n/10 is a proximity search. When we enter medicalization n/10 society into the search box, we at telling ProQuest that we want the word medicalization to appear within 10 words of society in the search results.
Articles on Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following article:
- Can medicalization be good
- The evolution of the concept of medicalization in the late twentieth century
- Medicalizing meaning: demoralization syndrome and the desire to die
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.
Library Catalogue
Click on the link above >
Select books in the material type >
Search for the following book:
- The medicalization of society : on the transformation of human conditions into treatable disorders

Books on Ebook Central
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP login details >
Search for the following book titles >
- Closing Asylums for the Mentally Ill
- Policing and the Mentally Ill (see box in upper right hand side of screen - page intro of 331. Click on page intro and type 138. Then hit the enter key).
Click on the linked book title >
Click on the Read Online button.
Keyword Searching on EBSCO
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP login details >
Click on continue when the choose databases screen loads >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches >
deinstitutionalisation AND mentally ill AND Australia
Keyword Searching on Taylor & Francis
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP Student Portal details >
Try the following keyword search:
deinstitutionalisation "mentally ill" Australia
Some results will appear but click on the 'Only show content I have full access to' (on the left hand side of the screen) and wait for the results to reload (a few seconds). You will be able to open any articles with a green ticked section or yellow padlocked section in the lower right hand corner of each record.
Article on SAGE
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal login details >
Select 'Only content to which I have full access' >
Search for the following article:
- Australia’s National Mental Health Strategy and deinstitutionalization
Articles on Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following article titles:
- Is deinstitutionalization working in our community
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

Books on Ebook Central
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP login details >
Search for the following book titles >
- Psychopharmacology for Health Professionals (see from p.20)
Click on the linked book title >
Click on the Read Online button.
Articles on Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following article titles:
- Cultural Enthusiasm, Resistance and the Societal Embedding of New Technologies (Click on all 9 versions under the abstract and then click on the any link to the right. See from p.153)
- Drugs of the psychopharmacological revolution in clinical psychiatry
- Behavioral Determinants of Drug Action: The Contributions of Peter B. Dews
- Deinstitutionalization of American public hospitals for the mentally ill before and after the introduction of antipsychotic medications
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.
Keyword Searching on Taylor & Francis
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP Student Portal details >
Search for the following article title:
- Living with mental illness in Australia
Some results will appear but click on the 'Only show content I have full access to' (on the left hand side of the screen) and wait for the results to reload (a few seconds). You will be able to open any articles with a green ticked section or yellow padlocked section in the lower right hand corner of each record.
Possible inter-library loan
Click on the link above >
Select students >
Your username is your acap email address and your password is your student portal password >
Select journal article and enter the following information:
Engstrom, F., Hong, K.K.L. and Blazer, D.G., 1997, 'Psychotropic drugs: Modern medicine's alternative to purgatives, straitjackets, and asylums', Postgraduate Medicine, vol. 101, no. 3, pp.198-211.

Ebook Central
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP login details >
Search for the following book titles >
- Mental Health Care and Hungerford (see ch. 4)
- Assessing Mental Health Across Cultures
Click on the linked book title to open the book >
Click on the Read Online button.
Keyword Searching on Taylor & Francis
Click on the link above and log in using your Navitas details >
Try the following keyword search:
"mental illness" culturally specific
"mental illness" culture aborigines
Some results will appear but click on the 'Only show content I have full access to' (on the left hand side of the screen) and wait for the results to reload (a few seconds). You will be able to open any articles with a green ticked section or yellow padlocked section in the lower right hand corner of each record.
Keyword Searching on SAGE
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP log in details >
Ensure the Only content to which I have full access box is ticked >
Try the following keyword search:
"mental illness" AND "culturally specific"
There are some interesting results on the first few pages.

Search for the following article on SAGE:
- Mental health, criminal justice and culture: some ways forward
Articles on Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- Assessing mental health across cultures (whole book loads)
- Mental health first aid for Indigenous Australians
- Issues in mental health assessment with Indigenous Australians
- Evaluation of a culturally adapted training in Indigenous mental health and wellbeing for the alcohol and other drug workforce
- Working as a culturally competent mental health practitioner
- Principles of practice in mental health assessment with Aboriginal Australians
- Culturally sensitive social work practice with Arab clients in mental health settings
- Important considerations when providing mental health first aid to Iraqi refugees in Australia: a Delphi study
- Do not forget culture when studying mental health
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

Ebook Central
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP login details >
Search for the following book titles >
- Mental Health in Australia: Collaborative Community Practice (search within book for "first national mental")
Click on the linked book title to open the book >
Click on the Read Online button.
Articles on EBSCO
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP login details >
Click on continue when the choose databases screen loads >
Ensure the full text and scholarly boxes are ticked >
Search for the following article >
- ‘Victoria on the move’: mental health services in a decade of transition 1992-2002
Report: National mental health report 2010
Australia. Department of Health and Ageing 2010, National mental health report 2010: summary of 15 years of reform in Australia’s mental health services under the National Mental Health Strategy 1993-2008, AGPS, Canberra
Do a ctrl f/find in page search for first national
National Mental Health Reports
Published by the National Mental Health Commission Australia.
Articles on Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- Australia's national mental health strategy
- An analysis of policy success and failure in formal evaluations of Australia's national mental health strategy (1992–2012)
- Australia's national mental health strategy in historical perspective: beyond the frontier
- Ten years of mental health service reform in Australia: are we getting it right?
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

Report: Social determinants of mental health
World Health Organisation 2014, Social determinants of mental health, WHO, Geneva.
Articles on Proquest
Click on the link above >
Login using your ACAP login details >
Ensure the full-text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked.
Search for the following article titles:
- Does mental illness have a place alongside social and recovery models of mental health in service users' lived experiences
- The role of genetic variation in the causation of mental illness: an evolution-informed framework

Try the following keyword searches on ProQuest (ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked):
predisposing n/5 factors n/5 "mental illness"
predispos* n/10 genetic* AND "mental illness"
"mental illness" AND predispos*
more...less...
n/5 is a proximity search. When we place n/5 between two words or phrases we are telling the system to return results with these words or phrases within five words of each other. The number five can be changed to any number.
Articles on Taylor & Francis
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP Student Portal details >
Try the following keyword search:
- What do we know about families where parents have a mental illness
- Schizophrenia: A critical view on genetic effects
Articles on Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following article titles:
- Schizophrenia: a tale of two critical periods for prefrontal cortical development
- Psychiatry and developmental psychopathology
- "Unemployment as a Risk Factor for Mental Illness"
- Neurocognitive endophenotypes of impulsivity and compulsivity: towards dimensional psychiatry (this came up in a search for something else but there may be some useful information here)
Articles on Science Direct
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP log in details >
Search for the following article:
- Environmental stress and psychiatric illness
Report: Mental health
Productivity Commission. (2020, June 30). Mental health: inquiry report.
Once you have opened the report, do a ctrl f/find search for:
- predispos
Also, look at the sections discussing risk factors

Special Populations as Offenders

Books on Ebook Central
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP login details >
Search for the following book titles >
- Crime, Criminality and Criminal Justice (green cover. See ch. 6)
Click on the linked book title to open the book >
Click on the Read Online button.
Report: A national approach to mental health – from crisis to community First Report (ch. 13)
Australia. Parliament. Select Committee on Mental Health 2006, A national approach to mental health – from crisis to community First Report, AGPS, Canberra.
Keyword Searching on the AIC Website
Click on the link above >
Select newest first in the sort by box >
Try the following keyword searches:
"special needs"
Articles on Taylor & Francis
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP Student Portal details >
Search for the following article:
- The rehabilitation of indigenous prisoners: An Australian perspective
- Does Mental Illness Impact the Incidence of Crime and Victimisation among Young People

Try the following keyword search on Taylor & Francis:
"mentally ill offenders" "criminal justice" Australia
"mental illness" police Australia
After the results load, click in the 'Only show content I have full access to' box (upper right hand side of the screen) and wait for the results to reload.
Report: dis-Abled jsutice
French, P 2007, Disabled justice: the barriers to justice for persons with disability in Queensland, Queensland Advocacy Incorporated, Brisbane.
Book: Handbook on Prisoners with special needs
United Nations Office on Drugs & Crime 2007, Handbook on prisoners with special needs, UNODC, Vienna.

Special Populations as Victims
This section has been included because, anecdotally, 'people with mental illnesses are more likely to be victims of crimes than offenders'.
In including this section, I am not sure whether your lecturer would like this aspect covered so check with him/her before proceeding.

Articles on Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following article titles:
- Factors associated with violent victimisation among homeless adults in Sydney
- Criminally violent victimisation in schizophrenia spectrum disorders
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.
Articles on Taylor & Francis
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP Student Portal details >
Search for the following article:
- Does Mental Illness Impact the Incidence of Crime and Victimisation among Young People
Report: Mental health
Productivity Commission. (2020, June 30). Mental health: inquiry report.
Click on the link above and do a ctrl f/find search for:
- police
- criminal justice

Books on Ebook Central
Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP login details >
Search for the following book titles >
- Crime & Justice: A Guide to Criminology (ch. 15)
- Crime, Criminality and Criminal Justice (green cover. Click in the box (upper right hand side) that says page intro of... Type 320 and hit the enter key. This should take you to a section called 'the nature of the state'. Read this section down to p. 322 - discusses legitimacy. Both the cjs & departments of health are state institutions).
Click on the linked book title to open the book >
Click on the Read Online button.
Books on Multisearch
Click on the link above >
Search for the following book title:
- Policing vulnerability (see ch. 8)
- Criminal justice organizations: administration and management by Stojkovic (see the section starting on the bottom of page 190. Even though the example is American, you may be able to get a few points from here).
Book: On the edge of justice: the legal needs of people with a mental illness in NSW
Karras, M 2006, On the edge of justice: the legal needs of people with a mental illness in NSW, Law and Justice Foundation of New South Wales, Sydney.
Keyword Searching on Taylor & Francis
Click on the link above and log in using your Navitas details >
Try the following keyword search:
deinstitutionalisation "mentally ill" Australia
Some results will appear but click on the 'Only show content I have full access to' (on the left hand side of the screen) and wait for the results to reload (a few seconds). You will be able to open any articles with a green ticked section or yellow padlocked section in the lower right hand corner of each record.
Articles on Australasian Legal Scholarship Library (AustLII)
Click on the link above >
Search for the following article:
"Mental health laws" (by McSherry)
Articles on Science Direct
Click on the link above >
Log in using your student portal login details >
Search for the following article:
Consumers' experiences of rights-based mental health laws: Lessons from Victoria, Australia
Articles on the AIC Website
Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- Risk assessment by mental health professionals and the prevention of future violent behaviour
Articles on Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles on Google Scholar:
- Prisoner/Patient: Prisons as mental health institutions
- The emergence and implications of a mental health ethos in juvenile justice
- Mental illness, criminality, and citizenship
- Addressing the solution-focused sceptics: Moving beyond Punitivity in the sentencing of drug-addicted and mentally impaired offenders
- Policing services with mentally ill people: developing greater understanding and best practice
- Institutionalization of deinstitutionalization: a cross-national analysis of mental health system reform
Report: A national approach to mental health – from crisis to community First Report
Senate Select Committee on Mental Health. (2006). A national approach to mental health – from crisis to community First Report. Parliament of Australia.
Note: this link leads to ch. 13 directly
Website: Mental Health Act 2014.
State of Victoria. (n.d.). Mental Health Act 2014.
Report: Report on Government Services
Steering Committee for the Review of Government Service Provision. (2022). Report on Government services.
Note: Check the justice and health sections to compare the aims/objectives of each department.
Request an Interlibrary loan for the following chapter:
Click on the link above >
Select the first option (students) >
Your username is your ACAP email address:
123456@my.acap.edu.au
your password is your student portal password >
Select chapter and fill in the form with these details:
Anne Rogers and David Pilgrim, 2021, A Sociology of Mental Health and Illness 6 the ed., McGraw-Hill Education, ch. 9 - Mental health work and its professions

Note: Many articles/books below discuss the British context. All early Australian structures (political, cultural, social, medical) were based on the British system.

Books Available from the Library Catalogue
Click on the link above >
Ensure books is selected in the material type box >
Search for the following books:
- Managing madness : psychiatry and society in Australia 1788-1980
- Mental Health in Asia and the Pacific Historical and Cultural Perspectives
Articles Available from the Library Catalogue
Click on the link above >
Ensure articles is selected in the material type box >
Search for the following articles:
- The regulation of British colonial lunatic asylums and the origins of colonial psychiatry 1860-1864
- History of psychiatry in Australia, pre-1960
- Talking about Mental Illness: Life Histories and Mental Health in Modern Australia
- Re-placing the lunatic asylum in the history of madness
Articles on Google Scholar
Click on the link above >
Search for the following article titles:
- Balancing community-based and hospital-based mental health care
- What are the arguments for community-based
mental health care
- Families, Patients and Emotions: Asylums for the Insane in Colonial Australia and New Zealand
- History of mental illness + Farreras (whole book loads - see ch. 13)
- Asylums: the historical perspective before, during, and after
- The historical development of mental health services in Europe
- Getting out of the asylum: understanding the confinement of the insane in the nineteenth century
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.
Out of print book - request through interlibrary loan
C. Coleborne & D. MacKinnon (Eds.). (2003). Madness in Australia: Histories, heritage and the asylum. University of Queensland Press in association with the API Network and Curtin University of Technology
Click on the link above and look at the preview to see if the book has any useful content. If it does, request a chapter (quicker) or the book through our interlibrary loan service - instructions are included below.
more...less...
Note: an attempt was made to purchase this book but it is out of print
How to do an interlibrary loan
1. click on the link above
2. select students - your username is your acap email address and your password is your student portal password
3. Select chapter (recommended) or book and complete the form