SOSC1024 Diversity & Justice

Click on the link above >
Ensure books are selected in the material type box >
Search for the following books:
- Conflict, politics and crime: Aboriginal communities and the police (this is a little older but is considered a classic)
- Crime, Aboriginality and the decolonisation of justice
- Koories and Jungais (this book has a Victorian focus)

The following search is linked above.
Ensure articles are selected in the material type box >
Enter the following keywords:
Box 1: (leave contains) aboriginal
Box 2: (leave contains) police OR policing
Box 3: Australia
After the results load, change the date range to 2004-2024 and apply the change.
Select peer reviewed from the options on the left and apply the change.

The following search is linked above.
Ensure articles are selected in the material type box >
Enter the following keywords:
Box 1: (leave contains) women
Box 2: (leave contains) police OR policing
Box 3: Australia
After the results load, change the date range to 2004-2024 and apply the change.
Select peer reviewed from the options on the left and apply the change.

The following search is linked above.
Ensure articles are selected in the material type box >
Enter the following keywords:
Box 1: (leave contains) LBTI OR gay OR lesbian OR transgender
Box 2: (leave contains) police OR policing
Box 3: Australia
After the results load, change the date range to 2004-2024 and apply the change.
Select peer reviewed from the options on the left and apply the change.

The following search is linked above.
Ensure articles are selected in the material type box >
Enter the following keywords:
Box 1: (leave contains) minority OR minorities
Box 2: (leave contains) police OR policing
Box 3: Australia
After the results load, change the date range to 2004-2024 and apply the change.
Select peer reviewed from the options on the left and apply the change.

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP Student Portal log in details >
Look for the book titles listed below:
- Australian Policing: Critical Issues in 21st Century Police Practice (ch. 24 & 25)
- Queering Criminology (ch. 3)
- Contemporary Police Practice (ch. 8)
After you have opened a title, click on the Read Online button.

EBSCO contains academic journal articles and some Ebooks.
To access this database, click on the link above >and log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Click on the yellow continue button >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following search:
policing AND diversity AND Australia
policing AND Aboriginal Australians

Click on the link above >
Try the following keyword searches:
police AND diversity
police AND minorit*
police AND gay
police AND "indigenous Australians"
After the results load, click on (by date) above the search results so that the most recent articles load first.
Search for the following article on AustLII
- Should Police, Corrections Staff and Law Enforcement Officers Be Immune from Criminal Liability

Taylor & Francis contains academic journal articles.
To access this database, click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal login details >
Try the following keyword searches:
police diversity Australia
police minority Australia
police gay Australia
policing aborigines
indigenous Australians policing
Some results will appear but click on the 'Only show content I have full access to' (on the left hand side of the screen) and wait for the results to reload.
You will be able to open any articles with a green ticked section or yellow padlocked section in the lower right hand corner of each record.

SAGE contains academic journal articles.
To access this database, click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal Login details >
Ensure the ' Only content to which I have full access' button is selected >
Click the + symbol to add an extra box >
Try the following search:
police AND diversity AND Australia
police AND indig* AND Australia
police AND gay and Australia
police AND ethnic AND Australia

Proquest contains academic journal articles and Ebooks.
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Ensure the full-text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches:
police AND diversity AND Australia
police n/20 diversity AND Australia
police n/20 Australia AND gay

EBSCO contains academic journal articles and some Ebooks.
To access this database, click on the link above >and log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Click on the yellow continue button >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following search:
courts AND gender AND Australia
courts AND race AND Australia
courts AND interpreters AND Australia
courts AND disability AND Australia

Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- Reform of the Judicial Appointments Process: Gender and the Bench of the High Court of Australia
- The Law Equality and Inclusiveness in a Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Society

Try the following keyword search on AustLII
"Intercultural communication"

Proquest contains academic journal articles and Ebooks.
Click on the link above and log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Ensure the full-text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following keyword searches:
courts AND diversity AND Australia
courts n/20 disability AND Australia

Taylor & Francis contains academic journal articles.
To access this database, click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal login details >
Search for the following articles:
- Telling and Retelling Your Story in Court
- Australia and the burqa and niqab debate: the society, the state and cautious activism

Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- When linguistic and cultural differences are not disclosed in court interpreting
- Protection applications in the children's Court (search within document for CALD)
- "Cultural diversity and the courts"
- Intercultural communication and the language of the law
- Non-English-speaking defendants in the Magistrates Court: A comparative study of face-to-face and prison video link interpreter-mediated hearings in England (thesis)
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

Judicial Council on Cultural Diversity. (n.d.). Cultural Diversity Within the Judicial Context: Existing Court Resources

Australian Law Reform Commission.

Judicial Council on Cultural Diversity. (2016). National framework to improve accessibility to Australian courts for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Women and migrant and refugee women.

Published by the Law Council of Australia. Contains a list of separate reports. It is worth opening a few and doing a crtl f/find in page search for the word court.

The following search is linked above.
Ensure articles are selected in the material type box >
Enter the following keywords:
Box 1: (leave contains) aboriginal OR indigenous
Box 2: (leave contains) prison
Box 3: Australia
After the results load, change the date range to 2004-2024 and apply the change.
Select peer reviewed from the options on the left and apply the change.

Click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP Student Portal log in details >
Look for the book titles listed below:
- Arresting Incarceration: Pathways Out of Indigenous Imprisonment
- Australian Criminal Justice (see from p. 309 - section called Aboriginal people)
- Queering Criminology (ch. 11)
- Australian Courts : Controversies, Challenges and Change
After you have opened a title, click on the Read Online button.

EBSCO contains academic journal articles and some Ebooks.
To access this database, click on the link above >and log in using your ACAP student portal details >
Click on the yellow continue button >
Ensure the full text and peer reviewed boxes are ticked >
Try the following search:
prison AND disability AND Australia
Search for the following article on EBSCO:
- Transsexuals within the Prison System: An International Survey of Correctional Services Policies.

Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- Transgender Prisoners in Australia
- Should Police, Corrections Staff and Law Enforcement Officers Be Immune from Criminal Liability

Taylor & Francis contains academic journal articles.
To access this database, click on the link above >
Log in using your ACAP student portal login details >
Search for the following articles:
- Criminal Engagement and Australian Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Populations
- Psychological wellbeing, distress and coping in Australian Indigenous and multicultural prisoners: a mixed methods analysis
- Understanding women's imprisonment in Australia
- Analysing trends in the imprisonment of women in Australia and New Zealand
Try the following keyword searches:
prison sexuality australia
disability prison Australia
"Aboriginal over-representation in prison"
"female prisoners" Australia
Some results will appear but click on the 'Only show content I have full access to' (on the left hand side of the screen) and wait for the results to reload.
You will be able to open any articles with a green ticked section or yellow padlocked section in the lower right hand corner of each record.

Click on the link above >
Search for the following:
Resilient Individuals: Sexual Orientation Gender Identity & Intersex (see chapter on the cjs)

Click on the link above >
Search for the following:
General
- Penal diversity within Australia
- Prisons and vulnerable persons: Institutions and patriarchy
- The mental health of culturally and linguistically diverse offenders – what do we know?
- Access to programs and services among Culturally and Linguistically Diverse (CALD) offenders: The case of EQUIPS
- Ex-prisoners, homelessness and the state in Australia Intellectual Disability/Mental Impairment
- Unfitness to stand trial and the indefinite detention of persons with cognitive disabilities in Australia: Human rights challenges and proposals for change
- Assessing the mental health of multicultural prisoner populations: a cross-cultural comparison with culturally and linguistically diverse, Indigenous Australian and English-speaking background groups of prisoners (thesis)
- Offenders with intellectual disabilities in prison: what happens when they leave?

Women
- Request for a systemic review of discrimination against women in Victorian prisons
- Incarcerating Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Women in Australia: Finding a Balance in Defining the 'Just Prison'
- Painting the picture of Indigenous women in custody in Australia

LGBT+
- Factors associated with sexual coercion in a representative sample of men in Australian prisons
- Consensual sex between men and sexual violence in Australian prisons
- Understanding the over-representation of lesbian or bisexual women in the Australian prisoner population
- Predator or prey? An exploration of the impact and incidence of sexual assault in West Australian prisons
- The decline in sexual assaults in men's prisons in New South Wales: A “systems” approach
- Cisnormativity, criminalisation, vulnerability: Transgender people in prisons
- Sexual health and behaviour of New South Wales prisoners
- Sexual health and behaviour of Queensland prisoners

Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

Published by the Law Council of Australia. Contains a list of separate reports. It is worth opening a few and doing a crtl f/find in page search for the word court.