SOSC1024 Diversity & Justice

Click on the link above >
Try searching for the following:
- Keeping up with the Australia Zookeepers | Uber Eats
- New Rules Australian Open 2021 | Uber Eats
- New Lamb Ad Australia Day 2021 Full Length
- Menulog - Everyone Delivers Differently (2021, Australia)
- kfc shut up and take my money australia
- Did Someone say KFC ad Original Coffee
- Rexona x Dylan Alcott
- Matesong (Official Video) Tourism Australia Ad 2019
- Sydney WorldPride 2023 - Festival Trailer

The following search is linked above
Box 1: (contains) advertisements
Box 2: (contains) stereotypes
Box 3: (contains) Australia
After the results load, change the date range to 2008-2023 and apply the change

The following search is linked above
Box 1: (contains) Australian tourism
Box 2: (contains) visual culture
After the results load, change the date range to 2008-2023 and apply the change

Click on the link above >
Search for the following artiles:
- Beyond whiteness: a comparative analysis of representations of Aboriginality in tourism destination images in New South Wales, Australia
- Researching visual culture: Approaches for the understanding of tourism and leisure experiences
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

This is one option for finding music videos.

The following search is linked above:
Box 1: (contains) music videos
Box 2: (contains) stereotypes
Box 3: (contains) Australia
After the results load, change the date range to 2008-2023 and apply the change

Other search suggestions for the library catalogue:
Box 1: (contains exact phrase) music video
Box 2: (contains exact phrase) visual culture

Click on the link above >
Search for the following articles:
- “Styled by Their Perceptions”: Black Adolescent Girls Interpret Representations of Black Females in Popular Culture
- Identity in Music Videos: Techniques of Representation
- A multimodal analysis for an updated vision of women in music videos
- Gender Portrayal in Popular Music Videos: A Comparative Analysis of India and Canada
- Objectification of women in rap music videos
- Representation and the Global Gay Image in Music Videos: A Comparative Study of Queerness and Visual Culture in K-Pop and Western Pop Music Videos
- Reading gay music videos: An inquiry into the representation of sexual diversity in contemporary popular music videos
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

This is one option for finding film trailers.
Here are some suggestions:
All The Beauty And The Bloodshed - Official trailer
Barbie - Official trailer
Everything Everywhere All At Once - Official trailer
High Ground - Official Trailer
The Sapphires Official Trailer
Rabbit Proof Fence (2002) Trailer
Slumdog Millionaire trailer
Titane - Official trainer
Triangle of sadness - Official trainer
Red white and royal blue trailer
All of Us Strangers - Official Trailer
Drive away dolls official trailer
Poor things official trailer
Oppenheimer trailer
Dune part 2 official trailer

The following search is linked above:
Box 1: (contains) movies
Box 2: (contains) stereotypes
Box 3: (contains) Australia
After the results load, change the date range to 2008-2023 and apply the change

Other searches on the library catalogue
Box 1: (contains) movies
Box 2: (contains) representation
Box 3: (contains) Australia
After the results load, change the date range to 2008-2023 and apply the change

Click on the link above >
Search for the following:
- Australian cinema after Mabo (whole book loads)
Barbie
- Decoding the Perpetuation of Patriarchal Culture in the Barbie Movie
- Semiotic Analysis of Barbie Movie Poster
- The Profits of (the Critique of) Patriarchy: On Toxic Masculinity, Feminism, & Corporate Capitalism in the Barbie Movie
- Barbie in the Real World?: The Legitimization of Androcentric Ideals Through the Duplicity
of Pseudo-Feminism in Woke Films such as Barbie (2023)
Titane
- “I'm in Love With My Car”: Revisiting the Aesthetics of Petroleum in Crash (1996), Death Proof (2007), and Titane (2021) (Note: this should be available from the ACAP Library if you can't find it on Google Scholar)
- Desire for Transformation: The Actualization of Self-Identity Through Change in the Films Raw and Titane
- An Alien Phenomenology of Object Oriented Aesthetics and Genderqueer Representations in Julia Ducournau's Titane
- Creative Posthumanism and Bogdan Rață (provides a one-paragraph summary of the film - could be useful...)
Dune
- De-orientalizing Dune: Storyworld-building between Frank Herbert's novel and Denis Villeneuve's film
- Desert Power: A Chronological Comparison of Dune and Its Relationship With Contemporary American Views Towards Islam
- Research on Soft Science Fiction Films Based on the Movie Dune
- Desert Power: The Eerie and Disenchanted Philosophical Landscape of Denis Villeneuve’s Dune: Part One

Try searching for your chosen film title using this format (depending on the trailer you selected)
movie title + visual culture
Movie title + male gaze
movie title + orientalism
Note: When using Google Scholar, if an article has a link to the right, such as [PDF] researchgate.net, it is available for free. Click on the link to the right to open the article.
Most of the referencing information for these publications can be found by clicking on the little quote mark under each record. If some of this information is missing, check the headers and footers of the article you are reading.

This is not an academic article but look at the themes discussed here and relate it back to theories about visual culture.

Here is the ACAP Library guidance for referencing videos from YouTube.