ACAP Learning Resources: Computers, Printing and Technology (Technology Help): Useful Software

Below you will find links to computer software, mobile device apps, browser extensions, and online resources which may assist with your studies.

When in doubt, check with your educator before using.

Visit the IT @ Student Helpdesk for assistance with ACAP-provided software such as Office 365. The Helpdesk website also provides written instructions for their recommended software such as Handbrake or Zoom.

Download Software or Connect Online

Library MultiSearch
Use our MultiSearch to find library resources including physical resources such as textbooks, and electronic resources such as eBooks, journal articles and videos.
ACAP Vimeo Guides
Instructional videos which demonstrate how to use the library, its services and resources.

There are many web browsers available for accessing the internet. In addition to the default browser that comes with your device such as Microsoft Edge or Apple Safari, other options include:

Google Chrome
Google Chrome is a fast, simple and secure web browser, built for the modern web.
Firefox
Firefox - A popular, fast, secure, open source web browser.
Duckduckgo
The browser that actively protects your personal information. They also provide a search engine alternative that does not track you.
Microsoft Edge
Edge is the default browser for Windows devices. You can also download it for Apple and Android devices.

Note: The Apple Safari browser comes pre-installed on Apple devices and is not supported for Microsoft products.

Are you changing to a new web browser? Many browsers will allow you to import your search history, saved passwords and favourites from your old one.

For assistance with troubleshooting, most web browsers have a "help" function that will direct you to articles about fixing common issues. IT @ Student Helpdesk has published a guide about Clearing Cache and Cookies, which may help address website crashes or access issues to some online library resources.

Some web browsers work better with library resources than others. We recommend having more than one browser installed in case you run into problems.

Below you will find links to browser extensions you can use to speed up the research process. You can also configure Google Scholar to show you links to articles available through our subscriptions.

Many of the below browser extensions provide similar functions; you are welcome to select the ones you prefer. Check that your web browser supports the extension before downloading.

These extensions are optional.

Google Scholar Button
This extension adds a browser button for easy access to Google Scholar from any web page. Available for most browsers.
Lean Library Open
Another option to find Open Access versions of articles which would otherwise cost money to access.
Open Access Helper
Open Access Helper checks both Unpaywall and CORE to find free versions of academic articles.
CORE Discovery
CORE's browser extension provides one-click access to free copies of research papers whenever you hit the paywall.
Unpaywall
Available for Chrome and Firefox web browsers. It is a fast, free, and legal way to search for free versions of academic articles that may otherwise cost money.
EndNote Click
Another option to find PDFs that are available to you and even export citations. An EndNote subscription is not required, but you will need to create a free account. Auto-login to library-held resources is not enabled for ACAP.
Zotero Connector
For users of the Zotero referencing management software, the Zotero connector lets you directly download articles, books and other online resources directly into the Zotero app. It will also save citation information.
EBSCOhost Passport
This extension for Chrome and Edge checks whether you have access to EBSCO articles you find during the research process. Some setup required.

Adobe Digital Editions
A free eReader for PC, Apple Mac, tablets or mobile devices. Some ebook databases require the use of Adobe Digital Editions to access downloaded ebooks.
EBSCOhost Mobile App
The EBSCOhost Mobile app provides seamless access to all EBSCO databases the library subscribes to. Available for the App Store (Apple iOS devices) and Google Play (Android devices).
Ebook Central App
The new Ebook Central app allows you to download some ebooks for offline access. It is available for Windows, MacOS, iOS and Android devices.
VitalSource Bookshelf
A mobile ereader for the library's ebooks on the VitalSource platform.
Seeing AI
Seeing AI assists people with visual impairments with daily tasks from reading, to describing photos, to identifying products, and more. You can also use the app to generate image descriptions or alt text, but check with your educator before using it for assignments. Available on the iOS App Store and Google Play. Seeing AI is classified as a medical device in some regions.

Modern smartphones usually provide a way to scan documents directly onto your phone. Here are instructions for common devices:

For further scanning functionality, you can also download a variety of apps. Here are some examples:

Adobe Scan has free features, with a paid option for additional features. You will need to create an Adobe account if you do not already have one.
Genius Scan is a free app with optional paid features. However, the free app has no document limits and has enough features for the average user. Available on the App Store (Apple) and Google Play.
TurboScan has limited free features. App Store (Apple), Google Play.

Citation generators and reference management software can help you organise and reference your research. Always check your citations against the ACAP APA 7 Guide. For assistance finding resources, refer to our How to Find eResources guide.

ZoteroBib
ZoteroBib helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software.
Zotero [Recommended]
Zotero is a powerful, easy-to-use research tool that helps you gather, organize, and analyze sources and then share the results of your research.
Crossref
Crossref makes research outputs easy to find, cite, link, and assess. A not-for-profit membership organization that exists to make scholarly communications better. Use this to find DOIs or other details for citation if you're missing anything.
Research Gate
ResearchGate is a social networking site for scientists and researchers to share papers, ask and answer questions, and find collaborators. Good place to check the credentials of the authors of academic papers.
CiteFast
A "speedy" solution to citation.
Cite This For Me
Quickly create a citation using the APA or Harvard referencing styles. Good for those tricky references like court cases, legislation, broadcasts, conference proceedings, etc. It's fast and free! Note: do not sign up.
CMAP
This Software empowers users to construct, navigate, share, and criticize knowledge models represented as Concept Maps.
Evernote
Evernote is a cross-platform, free app designed for note taking, organizing, and archiving. Paid features also available.
ARDC Research Cloud (Nectar)
ARDC Nectar Research Cloud (Nectar) provides computing infrastructure, software and services that allow Australia's research community to store, access, and run data, remotely, rapidly and autonomously.
Litmaps
A literature mapping website which helps you discover, visualise, share and monitor research literature.

Office 365 - Free for teachers & students
Students and teachers are eligible for Office 365 Education, which includes Word, Excel, PowerPoint, OneNote, and now Microsoft Teams, plus additional classroom tools.
Libre Office
LibreOffice is a free powerful office suite with a clean interface. Recommended for Mac users not wanting MS Office.
Open Office
The OpenOffice open source project is the home of free software, OpenOffice Writer, Calc, Impress, Draw and Base.
Google Drive
Google Drive is the central cloud storage for all Google apps such as Google Docs and Google Sheets. You can use the same Google account for all Google services.
CMAP
This software allows users to construct, navigate, share, and criticize knowledge models represented as Concept or Mind Maps.

Zoom
Zoom is a videoconferencing program. You may have online classes which use Zoom. The library also uses Zoom for online appointments you may book with us.
Vidcoder
VidCoder is an open-source program for Windows. It can help you rip DVD/Blu-ray videos or change file formats for a video you already have. It uses HandBrake as its encoding engine.
Handbrake
Handbrake is a program which allows you to compress videos so they are easier to upload. You can also trim your videos.
Handbrake older versions
If you need older versions of Handbrake, find them here.
VLC Player
VLC is a free and open-source multimedia player that plays most multimedia files as well as DVDs, Audio CDs, VCDs and more. It works on most devices.
DaVinci Resolve
DaVinci Resolve is video editing software that has both free and paid versions. It is more powerful, but more complicated to use. Only recommended for more advanced users.

Genopro free version (Windows only)
GenoPro is an online family tree program that allows you to map genograms. Please note, the free version has limited functionality.
iGenogram
Genogram creator for Mac. This will cost you around $20.
Canva
Canva is a free graphic design software which can be used in your browser or in apps for iOS, Android, Windows and Mac. Paid features are available. A genogram template is available.

Social media websites often host academic communities or free educational resources. The Australian eSafety Commission publishes guidance for how to stay safe online, and how to protect your personal information. Providing social media links is not an endorsement of any social media platform.

LinkedIn
A professional networking social media website. Some working professionals are expected to maintain a LinkedIn profile and connect with their peers.
Academia
A place to share and follow research. Many researchers will upload their papers here.
ResearchGate
ResearchGate is a social networking site for scientists and researchers to share papers, ask and answer questions, and find collaborators.
LibraryThing
LibraryThing allows you to track your reading or your personal libraries. It also provides communities to discuss books and resources to learn about the Dewey Decimal System.
Padlet
Padlet is a digital canvas to create beautiful projects that are easy to share and collaborate on.
X (Formerly Twitter)
Some academic communities are present on X.
Bluesky
Developed by the creator of Twitter, some academic communities use this platform to connect with each other.
Facebook
There are many groups and pages on Facebook which are dedicated to professional networking.

Disclaimer

Any links to third-party software available on this website are provided “as is” without warranty and are to be used at your own risk. Downloading and installing this software is carried out with the understanding that you will be solely responsible for any damage to computer systems that may result from such activities and for the protection and backup of the data and equipment used in connection with it. The college is not liable for any damages incurred in connection with downloading, installing, using, modifying or distributing this material.