ACAP Learning Resources: ACAP Pathfinder: Psychological Science: Tests, Scales &amp; Measurements

Accessing Psychological Tests

Published Tests

The Library does not offer tests and measurements to the general student cohort as use is restricted to trained professionals. ACAP Professional Psychology students are able to access a small library of tests from the Sydney campus PPT Collection.

Unpublished Tests, Descriptions, and Summaries

Some tests, scales, and measurements may be accessed from appendices in published journals, alongside descriptions, analyses, reviews and associated research papers. These may also include author contact details. The library databases listed below can be used to access these resources.

Free Online Resources

Access to some resources may be provided by the author or publisher without restriction. These can easily be found by running an online search by title. Please be advised that such tools will not be administered in a clinical setting and may not be peer-reviewed.

Search Tips

Add the following terms to an Advanced Search: Scale OR test OR questionnaire OR assessment OR measure OR inventory.

Or use the Refine Results menu to filter the search by Tests & Measures in order to filter the search.

Library Resources

APA PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Professionally indexed, the PsycTESTS database is an extensive collection of items associated with psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments essential to the research needs of professionals, students, and educators across the behavioural and social sciences. Focused on a collection of instrumentation tools developed for research but not made commercially available, PsycTESTS helps researchers easily find scales and measures for their own use. PsycTESTS is an indispensable resource for researchers looking to conduct, create, or measure research in multiple fields of study.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within diverse areas. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
American Psychological Association’s (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations - the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.

Professional Psychology Tests Library (PPT)
Access restricted to ACAP Professional Psychology students.
ETS Tests Collection
The Test Collection at ETS is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices, most of which were created by authors outside ETS.
The University of Adelaide, University Library: Psychiatric Rating Scales and Diagnostic Aids
A comprehensive listing of tests and measures used in the psychology field, compiled by the University of Adelaide Library.

Books & Reference Items

Search for books about tests, scales, assessments etc. by MultiSearch
A non-specific search for Books related to tests, assessments, measurements, scales, or questionnaires. Refine this search by searching for specific titles.
Search for reference works about tests, scales, assessments etc. by MultiSearch
A non-specific search for reference works about tests, assessments, measurements, scales, or questionnaires. Refine this search by searching for specific titles.
A book/reference search for psychometric assessment and testing by MultiSearch