Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Student Portal Schedule Appointments Room Bookings Library Events Contact Us
Search and Discover

ACAP LIBRARY

Find

Find

Borrow

Borrow

Learn

Learn

My Library Login Advanced Search Google Scholar PubMed A-Z Journals A-Z Databases

Library Resources in Learning and Teaching: Linking to eBooks

Guidelines for using library digital resources in learning and teaching

Using eResources

The ACAP Library provides access to electronic resources to staff and students through the library’s electronic resources.   Electronic resources are governed by various license arrangements. In all cases it is preferable to link to the content. Linking saves you the trouble of downloading, saving and copying material. Often you can also avoid the copyright issues copying may involve.

It is easy to create stable links that work both on and off-campus. Steps to link to specific resources can be found on this page. If you require further assitance contact the Library Technician (Digital Curriculum Resources).

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts

To link to a book or chapter:
1. Find the book in the database.
2. Click the title to view the record (click the chapter name to go to a specific chapter).
3. Click the link image (Earth with a chain on it) at the top of the page.
4. Copy the URL from the dialogue box that appears.
5. Add the following to the beginning of the URL: "https://ezproxy.navitas.com/login?url=".

Example:
https://ezproxy.navitas.com/login?url=http://asp6new.alexanderstreet.com.ezproxy.navitas.com/tinyurl/tinyurl.resolver.aspx?tinyurl=7ZZ

Psychiatry Online

To link to a book:
1. Find the book in the database.
2. Click the title to view the record.
3. Copy the URL found just below the title and author details near the top of the page.
4. Add the following to the beginning of the URL: "https://ezproxy.navitas.com/login?url=".

Example:
https://ezproxy.navitas.com/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9781585625048

To link to a chapter:
1. Find the book in the database.
2. Click the title to view the record.
3. Click through to the desired chapter.
4. Copy the URL found just below the chapter title near the top of the page.
5. Add the following to the beginning of the URL: "https://ezproxy.navitas.com/login?url=".

Example:
https://ezproxy.navitas.com/login?url=https://dx.doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9781585625048.gg01

Ebook Central ebooks

To link to a book:
1. Find the book in the database.
2. Click the title to view the record.
3. Copy the URL from the address bar of your browser
4. Add the following to the beginning of the URL: "https://ezproxy.navitas.com/login?url=".

Example:
https://ezproxy.navitas.com/login?url=https://www.acap.eblib.com.au.ezproxy.navitas.com/patron/FullRecord.aspx?p=282208

To link to a chapter:
1. Find the book in the database.
2. Click the title to view the record.
3. Click on the "Contents" tab.
4. Right click the title of the chapter you wish to link to and select "Copy link address"
5. Add the following to the beginning of the URL: "https://ezproxy.navitas.com/login?url=".

Example:
https://ezproxy.navitas.com/login?url=https://www.acap.eblib.com.au.ezproxy.navitas.com/patron/Read.aspx?p=438359&pg=28

Note: you can link to a specific page within the chapter by adjusting the number at the end of the URL.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

To link to a book:
1. Find the book in the database.
2. Click the title to view the record.
3. Click the "Bookmark" link at the top of the page.
4. Copy the URL from the dialogue box that appears.
5. Add the following to the beginning of the URL: "https://ezproxy.navitas.com/login?url=".

Example:
https://ezproxy.navitas.com/login?url=https://go.galegroup.com.ezproxy.navitas.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|5CKJ&v=2.1&u=61acap&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w

To link to a chapter:
1. Find the book in the database.
2. Click the title to view the record.
3. Click "Table of Contents" and then click the desired chapter.
4. Click the "Bookmark" link at the top of the page.
5. Copy the URL from the dialogue box that appears.
6. Add the following to the beginning of the URL: "https://ezproxy.navitas.com/login?url=".

Example:
https://ezproxy.navitas.com/login?url=https://go.galegroup.com.ezproxy.navitas.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE%7CCX3466300002&v=2.1&u=61acap&it=r&p=GVRL&sw=w&asid=04972a96e2a7d2876357a110e7ca4d32