Skip to Main Content
ACAP Student Portal Schedule Appointments Room Bookings Contact Us
Search and Discover

ACAP University College Library

Find

Find

Borrow

Borrow

Learn

Learn

My MultiSearch Login Advanced Search Google Scholar PubMed A-Z Journals A-Z Databases

Reference in APA 7

This guide provides formatting and presentation standards in APA 7 for ACAP students.

Reference Elements: Theses & Dissertations

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title: Subtitle in Italics (Publication No. #####) [Dissertation or thesis type, Name of Institution]. Database or Archive Name. https://xxxxx

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title: Subtitle in Italics [Unpublished dissertation or thesis type]. Name of Institution. 

Published Works: If available, include publication numbers and the source archive or database. Include a Url if it will resolve without authentication. 

Unpublished Works: End the reference with the name of the institution as the Source element. Do not include a Url. 

See Section 10.5 of the APA Publication Manual for more examples.

Published Works

Brewer, R. S. (2019). Psychedelics and holotropic breathwork: Tools for depth psychology? (Publication No. 10258440) [Master's dissertation, Pacifica Graduate Institute]. ProQuest Dissertations Publishing.

Olsen, A. (2022). Understanding vicarious trauma: The effects of risk factors, protective factors, and trauma-informed care implementation on vicarious trauma symptoms (Publication No. 29212006) [Doctoral dissertation, Palo Alto University]. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses.

Bois, C. (2018). Investigation in the relationship between childhood adversity and cognitive function in psychosis and individuals at clinical high risk of psychosis [Doctoral dissertation, The University of Edinburgh]. Edinburgh Research Archive. https://era.ed.ac.uk/handle/1842/33089

Unpublished Works

Monteath, S. L. (2015). Separation anxiety in preschool and school aged children with cerebral palsy [Unpublished master's thesis]. Australian College of Applied Psychology.

Parenthetical Style

However, clinicians who score higher for neuroticism on the IPIP-N are "more likely to have vicarious trauma symptoms" when treating sex offenders (Olsen, 2022, p. 61).

There is a connection between childhood trauma, cognitive ability and the development of psychosis (Bois, 2018).

Narrative Style

Olsen (2022) found that "within the population of clinicians that treat individuals who committed sex offenses, people with higher neuroticism are more likely to have vicarious trauma symptoms" (p. 61).

Bois (2018) provides evidence for the connection between childhood trauma, cognitive ability and the development of psychosis.

Reference Elements: Conference Presentations & Proceedings

Presenter, A. A., & Presenter, B. B. (Year, Month, Day-Day). Title: Subtitle in Italics [Conference presentation]. Conference Name, Location. https://xxxxx

Conference presentations can include, papers, posters, sessions, keynote addresses and symposiums. Match the label in square brackets to the description of the presentation made at the conference.

To cite conference proceedings published in journals and books, use the relevant format for that resource type. More information can be found here on the APA Style and Grammar Guidelines.

Always use a DOI if available. A URL can be used if it resolves without authentication. 

See Section 10.5 of the APA Publication Manual for more examples.

Note: When a reference falls into two valid categories, such as a conference presentation and an online video hosted on a platform such as YouTube, APA Style allows some flexibility in choosing the format. The key is to remain consistent and always prioritise the purpose of a reference, which is to give readers the information they need to locate the original source easily and accurately.

Examples

Carian, E., & Johnson, A. L. (2019, August 10-13). The agency myth: Persistence in individual explanations for gender inequality [Conference paper]. The 114th Annual Meeting of the American Sociological Association, New York, NY, United States.

Duhigg, C., Albarracin, D., Swire-Thompson, B., Voegeli, C. & Van Bavel, J. (2024, August 6–10). Safeguarding public health in the misinformation era [Conference presentation]. APA 2024 Convention, Seattle, WA, United States. https://youtu.be/aTBNukE-t90?si=J8uKOuR1s02sDO-w

Evans, A. C., Jr., Garbarino, J., Bocanegra, E., Kinscherff, R. T., & Márquez-Greene, N. (2019, August 8–11). Gun violence: An event on the power of community [Conference presentation]. APA 2019 Convention, Chicago, IL, United States.

Pearson, J. (2018, September 27-30). Fat talk and its effects on state-based body image in women [Poster presentation]. Australian Psychological Society Congress, Sydney, NSW, Australia.

Pratama, A. W., & Parahyanti, E. (2019). Counterproductive work behavior among government employees: The role of basic psychological needs, compensation, and organizational justice. Proceedings of the 2nd International Conference on Intervention and Applied Psychology (ICIAP 2018), 770-784. https://doi.org/10.2991/iciap-18.2019.64